Classic Tiramisu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Yes, this was by far the best desert I've ever made. It's easy and tastes great! It turned out excellent for the first time. I used less sugar like some reviews suggested. Next one tho I will make it overnight and use a bit more rum (I think I used less than the recipe suggests). Can't wait to make more. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
This is the best recipe. I have never made tiramisu before and it turned out like I have been making it for years. In some of the comments I read, their cream was runny - I think the key is really step 2 - whipping heavy cream into stiff peaks. I bought three packages of soft lady fingers and it was the perfect amount. I brushed the espresso/kahlua mix and it gave great flavor. I also used a 8.5" spring form pan and it was awesome for presentation - looked like I bought from a bakery! This was a fun dessert to make, super easy and one of my favorites to make. Love, love, love it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krissywaldo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Horsham, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
I have made this many times and it is a great recipe. A little less sugar might be good. I use way more kahlua than called for. I don't bother to split the ladyfingers. I garnish with chocolate covered espresso beans. I get a lot of compliments on this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Federal Way, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
after reading the reviews i made similar changes, i used 3/4 c sugar and mixed it with the eggs a bit before cooking. i added 1 tsp vanilla to the heavy whipping cream and whipped it in a chilled bowl. used soft lady fingers, 2 packages (but will get one more next time) and used a tbsp to pour the iced coffee over them. turned out fantastic. will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I've made this twice now and both times it got rave reviews! Both times I used the hard lady fingers. The first time I dipped them in a coffee/kahluah mixture and they came out soggy. The second time I brushed the mixture on the hard lady fingers until they were well covered and it was PERFECT! I even had a friend who's not big on tirimisu ask for the recipe! A few notes on the recipe- I reduced the sugar by almost 1/2 and it was plenty sweet. I also used a 2:1 coffee/kahluah mixture for brushing the lady fingers. For the reviewer who was concerned about possible raw eggs (during pregnancy), I used a food thermometer and made sure the yolks reached 160 degrees before removing from the heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Excellent recipe!! I used other reviewers advice and got the hard ladyfingers and dipped the entire thing quickly in the coffee (these shouldn't be split). You just have to be sure you dip quickly or they will fall apart. Doing it this way avoids the cakier texture of just brushing the coffee on the soft ladyfingers. Overall, fantastic taste and texture and easy to make! I will definitely be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
I thought this was okay for tiramisu. I had troubles with it being a little too runny. I think you have to let it sit in the fridge for a couple days to help because I followed the directions and had stiff peaks in my heavy cream. I used 3 packages of soft lady fingers and quickly dipped them in Kahlua instead of brushing them. Flavor is pretty good, I just wasn't as happy about the consistency and would have liked it to be thicker. I used a springform pan, but can't release it because I am not sure it will keep its shape. If you are going to try it make it a few days ahead to allow the coffe/liquor flavor to meld into the tiramisu and also to let is set and thicken. I think I would try a different recipe next time instead of this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
My husband made this (as is) for a "teacher appreciation" luncheon recently . . . the bowl came home empty! And the teachers are still raving about it. Can't wait to make it for our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA
Living In: Milford, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
THIS WAS THE GREATEST RECIPE I HAVE EVER USED IN MY WHOLE LIFE. I EAT IT FOR BREAKFAST, LUNCH, AND DINNER. EVERYDAY!!! THIS HAS MADE ME WHO I AM TODAY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I made this Tiramisu as a sweet treat after an evening of appetizers. At the end of the night, I do believe someone had licked the serving bowl clean. The only thing I did different was to add a shot of espresso to the Coffee liquor to give the lady fingers a wonderful rich deep coffee flavor. I used soft ladyfingers and gave the a hick dip in the espresso-liquor mixture so they had more of the sweet coffee flavor than I would have gotten from brushing them. It was the best Tiramisu recipe I have found!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 604) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Classic Tiramisu

Make rich, creamy tiramisu at home. Bella!

Tiramisu II

Create a delicious, authentic tiramisu--rich and impressive.

Classic Spanish Sangria

Watch how to make this authentic version of the popular wine drink.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States