Classic Tiramisu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Bizou
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Made this for Thanksgiving dinner and it was a hit! I did find that it was a bit too sweet so next time I'll use 1 cup of sugar instead of 1 1/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port-Au-Prince, Ouest, Haiti
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
LOVED IT- I made this as a dessert contribution to a family dinner when we had a lot of family come in from out of town. It was a major hit! I made it again for pot luck at work and it was the only dessert that was gone. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lulu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I have made this twice with great results. I used a strong coffee instead of alcohol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
1st time made according to recipe Too sweet Not enough coffee flavor Great consistency 2nd time Reduced sugar to 1/3 cup Added 1tsp coffee liquer (Bailey's) and 1tsp vanilla extract to marscapone mixture Dipped savoiardi ladyfingers in combination of Bailey's and strong coffee Perfect!!! The quality of your liquer and coffee is crucial to overall flavor. If you don't want to drink it, do not add it to your tiramisu! Marscapone is high in fat and will separate as it gets warm. Let egg yolk mixture cool completely before adding refrigerated marscapone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jataun
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Because I am pregnant I brushed coffee on the ladyfingers instead of using 1/3 cup coffee flavored liqueur. It was delicious! I can't wait to make more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
Amazing. Followed the instructions except I let the egg/sugar mixture cool first before mixing it with the mascarpone. People just need patience when making this. It is a lovely dessert and one of my friends called it comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2013
This recipe is phenomenal! I make it in a springform pan, and it comes out perfect every time. Took the advice of other members and halved the sugar. Used the mascarpone substitute from Giada' s website (Googled mascarpone substitute), and strong coffee so it's kid-friendly, and my world-travelling best friend says it's the best she's ever had. Really hard to find lady fingers where I am, so I use (2) 12 oz packages of Stella D'oro brand Margherite (spelling?) cookies, and the recipe uses every single one, minus two or three for snacking. Can't even tell that it's not exactly authentic. Super easy to make, and delicious to boot. It'll even impress the in-laws.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
I use only 1/4 cup of white sugar, or it is extremely sweet. I also use biscoff cookies soaked in coffee and Kahlua turns out perfect :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
What happens when you add mascarpone to anything hot? It melts into an oil. This recipe says to whip the mascarpone into the cooked and whipped egg yolk mixture, with no mention of chilling it first. I followed the directions, even though I knew what would happen, and sure enough, the mascarpone melted. What a waste of good, expensive mascarpone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
I made this recipe and received excellent reviews! It was so delicious, but I did do a couple of things differently. 1) I used Italian Savioardi cookies I found that were harder than the soft Milano ladyfingers. I think they are more authentic, and liked the sugar on the top layer of the cookie. 2) I mixed 1/3 cup of coffee liqueur with one strong espresso for extra coffee flavor. Because the cookies were hard, I did need the extra liquid to get them to my desired softness. For assembly, I used a springform pan and followed the directions like the recipe indicated. Next time I will line the sides of the pan with cookies first, then line the bottom. I quickly dunked both sides of the cookie in the liqueur, placed in the bottom of the pan, and brushed a little more on top. I also brushed the cookies on the sides of the pan a little so they wouldn't be too hard to break with a fork. The cookie layer was perfect!! I also think there is enough cream to do three layers. (I only did two layers and it was fine but the cream layers were quite thick). Overall, great recipe and I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 613) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Tiramisu

Make rich, creamy tiramisu at home. Bella!

Tiramisu II

Create a delicious, authentic tiramisu--rich and impressive.

Tiramisu Chocolate Mousse

See how to prepare the perfect topper to a romantic dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States