Classic Tiramisu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
An authentic Italian recipe does not include whipped cream or nearly as much sugar. The original recipe calls for five eggs, half a cup of sugar, one teaspoon of pure vanilla flavouring and one pound of Galbani mascarpone cheese. The brand is very important. Galbani is imported from Italy and is the best available domestically. The savoiardi biscuits are dipped in two cups of strong espresso coffee and one third of a cup of brandy or kahlua.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Laura
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
This recipe was so easy. Especially the video was so helpful! Others are so impressed with this dessert. Amazing taste!! Love love love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresh Meadows, New York, USA
Photo by rmg
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
HA HA!!!! This was a lot quicker and easier than I thought, and came out AMAZING!!!!! YAY! I will make this many more times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rmg

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Turned out very good! However, I had a problem that I didn't see anyone else mention. When I stirred the egg yolks in a double boiler, they cooked! I didn't realize it so after stirring 10 minutes on lowest heat, I tried to whip it in a kitchen aid and nothing was happening except it was getting dryer and stiffer. The problem was a very thin metal double-boiler steamer pan - it held too much heat! I started over with new eggs, and used a small pan with a thick ceramic bowl over it, and stirred for 5 minutes. It was smooth, sugar dissolved and it was beautiful! When I whipped it in a cold bowl, it was perfect! So watch out for a bad double-boiler. If it looks wrong ( not like in the video - then it is cooked.) Used soft lady fingers, used up 2.5 packs of 12 each -made in 9X13 pan. Added 1/2 cup espresso to Kahlua. Also sprinkled cocoa over 2nd layer of ladyfingers. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
This is the best Tiramisu recipe I've made and I've tried a lot of them over the years. Someone else commented on the lady fingers having to be soft and it's right - you have to get the soft ones - I get mine at Trader Joe's. TJ also sells Mascarpone cheese at a reasonable price. Anyway, I made this for the office party last week and it was a huge success. I also like the coffee liqueur flavor over brandy which is used in some other recipes. I think the coffee liqueur makes it taste smoother without being overpowering. This recipe isn't hard to make but you have to follow instructions closely. Also, you can use just about any bowl but a glass one makes it interesting. If the bowl isn't exactly the right shape, that's not a big deal. Just cut the lady fingers to fit properly. Bon Appetit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bizou
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Made this for Thanksgiving dinner and it was a hit! I did find that it was a bit too sweet so next time I'll use 1 cup of sugar instead of 1 1/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port-Au-Prince, Ouest, Haiti
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
LOVED IT- I made this as a dessert contribution to a family dinner when we had a lot of family come in from out of town. It was a major hit! I made it again for pot luck at work and it was the only dessert that was gone. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lulu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I have made this twice with great results. I used a strong coffee instead of alcohol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
1st time made according to recipe Too sweet Not enough coffee flavor Great consistency 2nd time Reduced sugar to 1/3 cup Added 1tsp coffee liquer (Bailey's) and 1tsp vanilla extract to marscapone mixture Dipped savoiardi ladyfingers in combination of Bailey's and strong coffee Perfect!!! The quality of your liquer and coffee is crucial to overall flavor. If you don't want to drink it, do not add it to your tiramisu! Marscapone is high in fat and will separate as it gets warm. Let egg yolk mixture cool completely before adding refrigerated marscapone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jataun
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Because I am pregnant I brushed coffee on the ladyfingers instead of using 1/3 cup coffee flavored liqueur. It was delicious! I can't wait to make more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 11-20 (of 608) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Tiramisu

Make rich, creamy tiramisu at home. Bella!

Tiramisu II

Create a delicious, authentic tiramisu--rich and impressive.

Tiramisu Chocolate Mousse

See how to prepare the perfect topper to a romantic dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States