Classic Tiramisu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
Make sure that you added the yolk mixutre to the marscapone first!! I accidentally added the warm yolk mixture to the whipped cream and totally killed it. I used amaretto instead of coffee liqueur, and added some of the amaretto into the cream filling as well. Since I wasn't going to eat it immediately, I froze it instead of refrigerating it, and the tiramisu-ice cream was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
It was my first time making this dish. I used a 9x13 pan, and substituted amaretto for the coffee liquor. I also doubled the amount, since used hard ladyfingers.My co workers loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Amazing!! I married into an Italian Family and Tiramisu is my mother in law's signature dessert. I bought a tub of Mascarpone cause it was on sale. I made this recipe, my father in law just started laughing hysterically once he took a bite, then my husband and his brother started to laugh. This recipe beats my MIL's hands down!!! The men just kept their heads down and ate, knowing that I was in trouble cause this was soooo good!!! So, thank you !!! Oh, I used Grand Marnier with the espresso. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
This is fantastic! I had never had tiramisu and made it for my fiancee, he was amazed by it.. I did take the suggestion from others and used the cream cheese mixture rather than the mascarpone.. Alsom we have been experimenting with flavored coffees..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
I made this twice in two days. Both were very popular at the parties. First day, made it on a 9x 11 tray.. but ran out of the cheese mixture on my layers and had to make more. Second day, i made it in a trifle bowl. Had just enough cheese mixture. 1st try- followed the recipe, found too sweet. For the 2nd try, i did this and it was much better (1) use beater at lowest speed when beating egg and sugar over heat (tip from another reviewer) (2) reduce to 3/4 cup of sugar (3) use strong coffee, add 1 tbs of sugar + 2 tbsp of port wine (4) chill bowl & beater in freezer while making cheese mixture (5) add blackberries on the last cheese mix layer, then another cheese mix layer and cocoa powder..The sourness of the blackberries goes well with the sweet tirammisu....Other tips: (6) use small ladyfingers so no splitting required (7) soak for 3seconds in coffee, otherwise it will just fall to pieces (8) the blackberries can be replaced with any berries fruits...Carol, Thanks for the delicious and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
I have made several recipes for tiramisu, but this is the best one BY FAR I have ever made. I like the fact that this one is sweeter than the others, plus I like the fact that you cook the egg...makes it just a little bit safer in my viewpoint. I did not have mascarpone cheese, so used the cream cheese/sour cream/whipping cream substitute used by LGIORGI on that review. Since my ladyfingers were hard, I made around 1 1/2 cups of strong coffee with a little Kahlua, soaking each ladyfinger for just a few seconds. If you use this method, do not soak too long or the ladyfingers will fall apart. Everything came out perfect. I impressed the heck out of my guests! :D Wonderful, wonderful recipe, which I will definitely make again, probably over the holidays. Thank you VERY MUCH for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wolfe City, Texas, USA
Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
I made this for my sister who fancies herself a Tiramisu expert and she loved, loved, loved it!! I took alot of reviews into account and scaled this recipe down to 10 servings so that I would only need the one tub of marscapone cheese, which my Italian friend told me to NEVER sub in this recipe. Luckily I have an Italian deli close by and found both the marscapone and lady fingers at very reasonable prices. A 7oz pkg of lady fingers for $2.60, it had 24 lady fingers. I made this in an 8x8 square glass dish and I did use a mixture of strong coffee and kahlua to very quickly dip the lady fingers into. I was able to create 3 layers all together and let it set in the fridge for 2 days, as some had suggested. On the second day it was good, but boy was it better on the 3rd day and Fabulous by the 4th day! So if you want it for a Friday night, make it and put in the fridge on Monday night and you will not be disappointed!! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noemi - No way is she a

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guadalajara, Jalisco, Mexico
Living In: Paramount, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
This was delicious, but I have a couple of pertinent comments! I went to purchase the ladyfingers, and the packages were only 3 oz (i used soft ladyfingers, maybe that was the difference?); I started to question the number of packages I'd need, but decided to play it safe (I had to purchase 8 packages to equal the 24 oz stated in the recipe @ $3/pkg). This, of course, was too much! I should have followed my instincts. I used about 3 1/2 packages, and that was because i doubled up on layers in order to try to use some of the ladyfingers up. The other is that 1/3 c of coffee liquor is not enough . . . i actually combined about a 1/6 c espresso and 1/6 c liquor, but either way, 1/3 c liquid is too dry. There wasn't enough flavor in the ladyfingers. But the cream was delicious and overall it was a wonderful recipe! Just keep in mind you do not need to spend $24 in ladyfingers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peachmarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
Very good! Substituted 1/3 less fat cream cheese for the mascarpone cheese, used strong coffee instead of coffee liqueur, and used 3 (3oz) packages of soft ladyfingers. I also used a Hershey's milk chocolate bar to shave on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kendra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
FANTASTIC!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 614) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Tiramisu

Make rich, creamy tiramisu at home. Bella!

Tiramisu II

Create a delicious, authentic tiramisu--rich and impressive.

Tiramisu Chocolate Mousse

See how to prepare the perfect topper to a romantic dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States