Classic Tiramisu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I made this for Christmas dinner - nothing but raves!!! I followed the advice of the man at the Italian market and bought the "good" mascarpone, instead of the less expensive stuff - I don't know if it made a difference or not, but what a hit! Also couldn't/didn't split the hard cookies - not a problem to use whole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
This recipe is amazing!! I followed it for the most part except I used strong coffee mixed with 2 tbs of rum. I bought marscapone cheese and lady fingers at an Italian speciality store. I recommend using the more firm lady fingers since they will absorb the coffee mixture and not fall apart when serving. This recipe will be used often at my house especially during my Feast of the Seven Fishes dinner on Christmas Eve!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
This was dead simple and super tasty! My mistake was not getting enough ladyfingers. Otherwise it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEANIE_STENSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stow, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
Nom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
The only issue I had at all with this recipe was that it's a little sweet for my taste. That's a lot of sugar compared to some other tiramisu recipes I've looked at. But it was good. My boyfriend loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly22

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Great Recipe- I replaced the coffee liquor with Rum Cream for a sweeter taste and it was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
I've made this twice now. Once for my family in which I used a 13x9. I substituted coffee for the liquer due to feeding it to the kids. The second was at a family gathering in which I used a trifle bowl I purchased for this reason. The kids loved it, which shocked me as I have a picky eater. The extended family RAVED about it. It was gone very quickly, and I was told I am not allowed to show up to a gathering without it, ha! The trifle bowl looked beautiful, so not only did it taste great, it made me look like I know what I'm doing. I was asked if I always made "fancy schmancy desserts". Leftovers are great too, the kids liked it better after it sat in the fridge for a couple days, and hubby and I definitely thought it was a great leftover treat. It was gone before I could see how it tasted on day three. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Great recipe. the cream although i didnt use the Italian cheese but the common substitute was superb.just remember the coffee taste is very strong and bitter so dip the biscuit lightly until its color is light brown,if the color was coffee dark it will be very bitter. trust me that happened to me . the stiffer you want it the more you must whip the whipping cream only,not the finale mixture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dalinda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
I made this for my boss' birthday today since it's his favorite dessert and it got RAVE reviews. I substituted the cream cheese, sour cream and heavy cream mixture for the mascarpone cheese, and used strong coffee instead of Kahlua and it still came out beautifully. I put mine in a 9" springform pan overnight and when I took the outer ring off this morning it held its shape and looked awesome. I garnished with dark chocolate curls and chocolate covered espresso beans. Such an easy, but impressive looking dessert that gets lots of oohs and aahs! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vatech90

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fishersville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
I was a little concerned about this recipe as most other tiramisu recipes call for at least SOME espresso or strong coffee and not just liqueur. I was able to fit 3 layers into my pan and it seemed as though I had to use more like 1/3 cup of liqueur per layer instead of 1/3 cup for the whole recipe... that being said, the liqueur flavor was very strong. I will make this again, but next time, instead of just liqueur, maybe combine 1/2 cup liqueur and 1/2 cup espresso to brush onto the lady fingers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 604) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Classic Tiramisu

Make rich, creamy tiramisu at home. Bella!

Tiramisu II

Create a delicious, authentic tiramisu--rich and impressive.

Classic Spanish Sangria

Watch how to make this authentic version of the popular wine drink.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States