Classic Tiramisu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I made this recipe my one. The following are ways I tweaked this recipe...that I believe made it better. - ~6 oz dark rum and strong coffee mix (used to baste each layer of ladyfingers) - ~8 oz cream cheese & ~8 oz mascarpone (homemade is a lot easier than one might think, not to mention the awesome taste) - Homemade Ladyfingers - Used 1 cup sugar, vice 1 ¼ cup. For the mascarpone I simply purchased a cheese making kit from: http://www.cheesemaking.com/Mascarpone.html#Anchor-Option-49575 *Great site for those who want to get into cheesemaking* The biggest impact I noticed on taste improvement, was the ½ & ½ mixture of cream cheese and mascarpone. The taste was creamy, sweet (but not too sweet), with almost a tang. This is a recipe I will be making again! The only changes I will be making are the shape of the cake. *I do not want to toot my own horn, but I was impressed and so were my guests*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
This was heavenly:) We ate the whole thing. Would add rum extract instead of rum, when there are kids involved. I used smaller Ladyfingers, so I didn't cut them in half. I rolled them in the coffee/rum mixture I made, and proceded with the directions as written. Happy eating:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Maria
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
The first time I made this Tiramisu I used the accect recepi. It was way to strong for us. The second time I made it I changet it up a bit. I used 1 cup of very strong coffee and 3 Tablespoons of coffee flavored liqueur mixet together. I cooled the coffe mixture in the fridge wile I mixed the othed ingrediants. The flavor was great and we were able to enjoy it better.Also it's much better if you make it the a day before you serve it to your guests. The flavor is much better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
Used this recipe for a dinner party tonight and it really turned out fantastic! I used a trifle bowl and the presentation was beautiful. It was much easier than I imagined- definitely making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
I use the hard imported lady fingers and I use about a cup of very strong coffee and Kahlua mixed together to dip them in. Be generous when dipping. Then the Tiramisu must sit in the 'fridge overnight at the bare minimum. The egg is the hardest part, you are actually making Sabayone. Whisk constantly while cooking and don't let the mixture get too hot. Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
I have a similar recipe, but i make my own ladyfingers and i make sugar syrup to the stage of soft ball to cook the eggyolks with to prevent salmonela. Other than that our recipes are almost identical.I posted picture of the Tiramisu i made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by exczech

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
I GOT RAVE REVIEWS WHEN I MADE THIS DELICIOUS DISH FOR THE VERY FIRST TIME!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
We have made this recipe many times and love it. We have used both types of lady fingers. They are not always easy to find. We actually line our pan/trifle with the ladyfingers and use a turkey baster and brush to spread the expresso/kahlua mixture we make. The ingredients can be expensive but a couple of tips: if you have a trader joe's, they have the mascarpone cheese and the heavy whipping cream for a fraction of the cost. Near the holidays, they even carry the lady fingers. They don't have them for too long so go in when you can and stock up. It was about 1/3 of the cost at the local Italian market. We make this recipe for people and we always have the nicest thank you's. People love it. Hope it helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
Late reviewing this--had this for mothers day and it was better than expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tashaboo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
Great news everyone, you can make your own mascarpone cheese at a fraction of the price and it tastes great, easy too. However you have to make it at least one day before making your tiramisu. In a double boiler bring one quart of heavy cream to 90 degrees farenheight (takes about ten minutes). Stir often to keep the cream from scorching. Add one tablespoon of tartaric acid, (or try one tablespoon of lemon or lime juice or one tablespoon of vinegar). Let cool. Keep stirring until you begin to see separation of whey (clear liquid). Line a sieve with three layers of cheese cloth or three coffee filters and place sieve over a pot or bowl. Pour cream inti sieve and cover. Place in fridge overnight to allow the whey to drain. The next day, vola, you have mascarpone cheese. Peel away filter and place cheese in an airtight container till ready to use. Use within five days. I suggest you google this and or watch you tube videos. Now for my rating, great recipe but way too much sugar and I do have a sweet tooth. Will definatly make again but less sweet. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 611) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Classic Tiramisu

Make rich, creamy tiramisu at home. Bella!

Tiramisu II

Create a delicious, authentic tiramisu--rich and impressive.

Tiramisu Chocolate Mousse

See how to prepare the perfect topper to a romantic dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States