Classic Tiramisu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 26, 2011
Just made my first Tiramisu! It's sitting in the fridge right now. Can't wait til tomorrow when I can taste it. It was so easy to make. I was terrified that I would mess it up. For some reason I thought that tiramisu was difficult to make. I did half mascarpone cheese and half creamcheese. Also, I found it easier to make chocolate curls using a sharp paring knife on a chocolate bar instead of a vegetable peeler, but that just is preference. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
This was the first attempt at tiramisu and I'm hooked. I gave a piece to my coworker and she couldn't believe that I made it. She practically melted off of her chair while eating it. I followed the recipe almost to the dot but made a few minor changes. Since I'm not a huge fan of alcohol, I used a strong black coffee to brush on the lady fingers instead. My coworkers said I have converted them to virgin tiramisu lovers. Also, definitely let it sit overnight or atleast 8 or 9 hours so that it sets properly otherwise it is too runny. The only other change I made was I cooked the egg yolks and sugar for 5 minutes rather than 10. I may decrease the sugar to just over 1 cup rather than the 1 1/4 cups next time but that's it. This is a keeper and I can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
Made this for a dinner party and not only was it much easier than I anticipated, but my guest loved it. Could not find mascarpone so I substituted ricotta. Worked fine. I think the only way to improve will be to make my own lady fingers--hmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
I'm sorry...but I don't think this turned out well at all. I followed the directions exactly, my yolk/sugar mixture was a bit weird and it never set up even after being made over 24hrs in advance. I'm a bit dissapointed because the ingredients were expensive and none of my guests liked it so it all got tossed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
I followed the instructions as is, turned off the oven when it was done baking, and left it in the oven to cool for an hour. I still had a couple cracks on top but the taste was divine! I just topped it off with some fresh fruits and drizzled melted white chocolates on top and no one knew. Next time I'll try the water bath to prevent any cracks on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Great recipe! Very yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
OMG! It was fabulous! I just layered everything in a 8 x 8 square dish, and it was heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
This was fabulous! I did get the hard ladyfingers. Instead of brushing them I also brewed 12 oz strong coffee and added a 1/3 cup kaluha. I quickly dipped the whole lady fingers in the coffee mix before layering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Texarkana, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chinpey
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Great recipe that got everyone praising. However, just one thing to take note, if u r using sponge finger which is coated with sugar (mine was Tesco brand) be sure to cut down on the white sugar. else it will turn out to b tad too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Klang, Selangor, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ss858
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
This was my first time making Tiramisu (I made it for Valentine's Day) and although it didn't come out as great looking as many of the other ones in the pictures, it was DELICIOUS. Like some of the other reviews, I left out the coffee flavored liqueur and instead brushed the lady fingers with espresso. I also substituted mascarpone cheese with a sour cream/cream cheese/ whipping cream recipe provided by one of the other reviews.. It must replicate the real thing pretty well because it tassted great. I'm looking forward to practicing and making this as beautiful at it was delicious- Thanks Carol!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ss858

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 608) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Tiramisu

Make rich, creamy tiramisu at home. Bella!

Tiramisu II

Create a delicious, authentic tiramisu--rich and impressive.

Tiramisu Chocolate Mousse

See how to prepare the perfect topper to a romantic dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States