Classic Tiramisu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
My mom used to make Tiramisu as it's my sister's favorite, but hasn't made it in forever. I found this recipe was even better than hers. First, I followed another reviewer's instructions and decreased the sugar to 1/2 cup, and prepared the sugar in the double boiler separate from the egg yolks; I'm not sure what a difference it made as I never made it the other way, I HIGHLY recommend making it in a springform pan. My biggest complaint with my mom's version was that the bottom tended to get soggy because the coffee from the cookies would leak out. That being said, I put a larger bowl under the pan as I worked to absorb the coffee that leaked out. Also, because I was taking the cake to go, I froze it for a few hours beforehand. It kept its shape PERFECTLY on the drive over, made slicing it much neater, and even though the center was slightly frozen, I'd probably just not freeze it as long next time. Great recipe. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
I made this as a special dessert for my sister's birthday. The whole family raved and every scrap was gobbled up! I'm a little confused by the amount of lady fingers that are listed in the ingredients. I bought 3 packages (7-3/4 ounces each) and only had room for 1-1/2 packages in the large bowl I used to assemble it. I wish the recipe suggested a bowl or pan size that it should fit into. My other suggestion is that it needs more coffee flavour. It was too subtle. Next time I will dip each cookie completely in the kalua (or espresso) on both sides. Can't wait for the next occasion to make it again and tweak it:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
I made this twice in one week that's how big of a hit it was. like others I reduced the sugar to 3/4 cups. but i added 3 layers to the cake so i increased the whip cream amount to 2 cups. it made it more cake like and small portions were enough for each person. but overall people wouldn't stop raving on about it and begged me to make it again for another dinner party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Made this yesterday....It was outstanding! We were having an Italian themed dinner party and this was the perfect way to finish the evening. It wasn't hard to make either. I will confess that I used quite a bit more than 1/3 cup of liqueur. I dipped the lady fingers in the liqueur rather than brush it on and they really soaked it up. Everyone raved about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
I made this for a dinner party my in-laws were invited to and i got rave reviews back on it. i personally don't think I will be doing the step with egg yolk. I will just mix the mascarpone cheese with the cream. I used coffee flavored mascarpone cheese and used starbucks italian roast instant coffee and it came out great. The egg gave it a real eggy smell that i don't like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tonton

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Sheer brilliance. I used this recipe to make it for the very first time and skipped the coffee flavored liquor and made fresh espresso instead. According to the italian grocer, the key to a great tiramisu is super strong espresso - it also didn't hurt that their marscapone cheese (polengi brand) and lady finger cookies (bonnomi) were both excellent ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Megan Humble
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
I looked up this recipe a few years ago when I discovered my boyfriend was in love with the tiramisu his late father used to make. I decided to make it for his birthday, and he flipped. Everyone loves it. It's become a birthday tradition now, and we even decided to use this recipe for our wedding cake! One of our guests told me that he's never liked tiramisu before, and he went back for fifths! The first time I made this, the lady fingers made up about half the cost. So since then, I've used angel food cake instead. You can make your own, but I'm usually so busy around my husband's birthday (he has the misfortune of sharing a birthday with Jesus) that I'll just pick two up at the grocery store for $4 and slice it up. It usually takes a bundt cake and a loaf cake. It's slightly sweeter, and not quite as pretty, but delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
I made this for Italian day potluck for work.. So easy to put together.. However I would suggest cutting down on the sugar.. I also used a 8 inch springform pan. I did taste the filling.. Wow its sure to be a success! Lol..Update it was a HUGE Hit .. One of the girls at work actually said if I had a bakery she would bake this from me .. :) I love Allreceipes, theyve never steered me wrong!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Kurth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Westwood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
This is beyond fabulous. It is a little more work than a standard dessert but tastes like a million bucks. And that's what it'll cost for all the ingredients too! Just kidding. Made this for a large get together and had many people say that this was not only the BEST tiramisu they have ever had in their life but the BEST dessert they have ever had. A note on the recipe: It calls for way more ladyfingers than you will need if you are using a spring form pan. I couldn't find enough at the store and ended up making them from scratch(now that is a pain!) but made too many because of the incorrect amount. I would say you need about 16 oz worth of lady fingers not 24 if you are using a spring form pan. Make this recipe if you want people to think you are a fabulous cook and want to give you a diamond necklace because of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
WOW!!!! That was fantastic! After reading the reviews I decreased the sugar to 3/4 cup and used 12 oz of Starbucks coffee with a shot of marsala wine instead of coffee liqueur. I also added some coffee to the cream mixture. YUMMY!!!!! BUT it NEEDED to set overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dix Hills, New York, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 612) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Classic Tiramisu

Make rich, creamy tiramisu at home. Bella!

Tiramisu II

Create a delicious, authentic tiramisu--rich and impressive.

Tiramisu Chocolate Mousse

See how to prepare the perfect topper to a romantic dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States