Classic Thanksgiving Dressing With Parsley, Sage and Thyme Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
Very Good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KingSparta

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marmora, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Made this for a Vegetarian Thanksgiving for my family! Made my own bread, nixed the onions and celery, substituted veggie broth for the chicken, and added dried cranberries. An excellent base recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenadee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
This stuffing won good reviews at our Thanksgiving table. I used quite a bit more celery and upped the quantity of herbs. I did use a dense, crusty Italian bread, which worked just great. I'd never taken the extra step of toasting the bread. For me the recipe resulted in a lighter, airy version of stuffing than was classic at my childhood home. Next time I might use a bit more liquid. For more even distribution of the seasonings, I added them to the sauteed veggies before mixing them with the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Excellent! I doubled the celery and herbs, and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
This was great - tasted just like my grandma's recipe. I did add a little garlic to the recipe and I did not toast the bread (I forgot!), but I did dry the bread out. Very yummy - everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
This was excellent! Although I did change some things according to my family's preferences. First I cubed my French bread and let it sit for several hours, didnt toast it. I used about 5-6 stalks of celery and 3 small onions. I used a little over 1/4 cup fresh parsley, about 2 T fresh finely chopped thyme and 1 1/2 tsp fresh minced rosemary. I also used about a T of dried sage, 2 cups turkey stock (from boiling the turkey neck and giblets) and ended up using 1 1/2 - 2 cups additional chicken broth. We really like our dressing with lots of herb flavor and the extra liquid made it moist without being mushy. Ths was the best thing on the Thanksgiving table this year! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
Hands down the one and only stuffing (dressing) I will eat with turkey. Sausage and cornbread make a mockery of the divine stuffing I had growing up. (The very most I might add to this one is button mushrooms.) I also like the idea of almost toasting the bread hunks before mixing. The way we made stuffing in my (very large) family was to break day-old bread into chunks and put them in a big doubled brown grocery bag. Poultry spice was added to the sauteeing onions and celery. Then we'd just pour the whole mess into the bags with the bread, then knead with our hands to work it through. It was heavenly every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
This was good! I used crutons/bread cubes because I was lazy to use the real french loaf. It worked well but I will probably use the bread next time. I made one batch and then split it, one using veggie stock and then 1 using chicken (so vegetarians could eat it). It was pretty good. I had never made stuffing before so I was impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Yummy! Would have been better with a little more celery but other than that it was perfect for my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yates Center, Kansas, USA
Living In: Chanute, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I use this every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oyster Dressing or Stuffing

See how to make the perfect Thanksgiving stuffing for seafood lovers.

Holiday Dressing

This savory dressing stars pork sausage and corn bread.

Gourmet Sweet Potato Classic

See how to make a top-rated sweet potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States