Classic Thanksgiving Dressing With Parsley, Sage and Thyme Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2005
I have never seen this recipe anywhere! This is very similar to the recipe that my mom has used all my life and it was passed down to her from her mom. If you are interested in a wonderfully simple but delicious homemade dressing then you must give this a try. This dressing is one of the first things that goes everytime it is made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2004
French bread worked like a charm! Stuffing was tender, flavorful and moist (I included 1C additional liquid for personal preferences). I also added crushed garlic (2 cloves). Everyone was VERY shocked it was my first experience making homemade stuffing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Ann White

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pima, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
When I made this recipe the second time, I chose to interpret a celery STALK as an entire bundle of celery, rather than just one RIB. When prepared this way, the dressing was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
Great recipe, it’s a family favorite. The only changes are fresh un-toasted bread, fresh herbs 3 eggs and only one cup of broth. iota
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Sobieski, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
This is the best stuffing recipie i have found! I added just a bit of rosemary since I use it for my turkey and it came out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
This was Wonderful!! I did add twice as much liquid (at least maybe more). We live in South Korea but had an American Thanksgiving Day service. Another American that is married to a Korean only ate this Dressing out of everything that was there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wakeeney, Kansas, USA
Living In: Gangneung, Kangwon-Do, South Korea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CBARBUSCA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
Excellent recipe! This was the first dish to disappear at Thanksgiving last year. I was so happy to find a stuffing recipe without sausage, and now I am even happier. This year, I doubled the recipe so I could have leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CBARBUSCA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
I love this recipe...my family did too...the seasoning was perfect and it was easy...what a difference using the french bread made...i will definately save this and make it again....thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Herndon, Virginia, USA
Living In: Key West, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
This was SOOOOOO Yummy! This year for Thanksgiving I decided to search out a recipe for the dressing my Grandma made (and my Mom and I still make) to get exact measurements. (When my mom passes down a recipe she always recites the ingredients and gives me approximate amounts (Tear up a loaf or so of bread add some onion 7 celery, oh and a little butter....you get the idea) well, This recipe has the same ingredients (plus a few more spices) but it actually came out better than ever since it was not as dry! I did a few minor tweaks based on other reviews and my desire to make it closer to my Grandma's--- I added a little more sage since their dressing was mostly a sage dressing. Plus, a little more broth since a few reviews thought it was a little dry. I put a little less thyme & parsley in, since these never part of their original ingredients, but I thought they would make tasty additions nonetheless. It was a huge hit! Everyone that is used to my stuffing was pleased, as usual, with the flavor (I think it was actually better)but love the moister version! I am used to dry dressing, so I don't like the very soppy moist versions, but this one came out as a perfect balance for us. i will be making it this was from now on! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
I need to mke a vegetarian dressing every year and am tired of using the box stuff. I decided to try this and using veg. broth. I really liked it and will not by the box again. Plan on making it this thanksgiving as vegetarian and to also stuff turkey. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Oyster Dressing or Stuffing

See how to make the perfect Thanksgiving stuffing for seafood lovers.

Holiday Dressing

This savory dressing stars pork sausage and corn bread.

Gourmet Sweet Potato Classic

See how to make a top-rated sweet potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States