Classic Thanksgiving Dressing With Parsley, Sage and Thyme Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
Mmmmm delicious! Just a word of caution, though... watch the cubed bread carefully while toasting it. One minute too long and they'll burn to a crisp, which I learned the hard way on my first batch hehehe. Also, I added approx. 1/2 cup extra chicken broth and it came out just the way I liked it. Thanks for the fabulous recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeusaCozinheira

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
Not a bad stuffing. Had to add a whole lot more liquid, I guess I'm used to a looser stuffing. Also added a ton more of the herbs, because I'm used to my stuffing very herby as well! Oh, and I also added some carrots. Overall, it was pretty good, not the greatest though. I'm used to stuffing with a lot more veggies and a lot more flavour. I only eat stuffing a couple times per year, so I guess to me any decadent stuffing needs bacon! Or something with that nice fatty flavour. A good healthier version though :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
This was SOOO good! I didn't have any french bread on hand, so I ended up using sweet italian loves instead. The result was delicious!!My new favorite stuffing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BarbieLou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
This recipe was so much like what my Grandmother made, I just had to try it! I did use extra celery like another reviewer mentioned... I added 1 extra egg to hold the dressing together better, and rolled the dressing into fist-sized balls. Then I baked them on a greased cookie sheet @ 350º for 30 minutes. My husband thinks this is absolutely the best stuffing ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Georgetown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
needed a whole lot more sage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kater1212

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richland, Washington, USA
Living In: Pasco, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
For years I made dressing (we didn't stuff the turkey with it, but baked in a pan) the way my mom did. It was a thick soup-like consistency, poured into a pan and baked, and cut into squares. In fact, my mom used to call it 'glop' before it was baked. It tasted wonderful, but looked less than appealing. I made this for the first time this Thanksgiving, and though only a couple of people, including me, like sage dressing, they went back for more and commented on how good it was. This is now my official dressing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
I've never made a stuffing like this before, and it was loved by all! I used fresh pumpkin crusty bread, which gave the dish an extra kick of flavor. Vegetable stock worked like a charm, and I also added a clove of crushed garlic. I used cilantro instead of parsley (not a fan) and made sure to go heavy on the herbs. Loved by vegetarians and meat eaters alike. We didn't have any leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
I doubled this recipe for 12 people at Thanksgiving. Added 2 chopped Fuji apples that I sauteed with the onion and celery. Great flavor, however I would have given 5 stars if it was a little drier...I couldn't tell if it was too much broth or egg. But very good nontheless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Mantua, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
I thought it seemed dry so added a 2nd can of broth. Oops! It came out almost like soup. Everyone else LOVED it though. To be honest, I didn't try it because I like a drier stuffing. As written though, it would have been great to me too. Smelled WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamakittyto3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montrose, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
I need to mke a vegetarian dressing every year and am tired of using the box stuff. I decided to try this and using veg. broth. I really liked it and will not by the box again. Plan on making it this thanksgiving as vegetarian and to also stuff turkey. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oyster Dressing or Stuffing

See how to make the perfect Thanksgiving stuffing for seafood lovers.

Holiday Dressing

This savory dressing stars pork sausage and corn bread.

Gourmet Sweet Potato Classic

See how to make a top-rated sweet potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States