Classic Thanksgiving Dressing With Parsley, Sage and Thyme Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
Excellent dressing. Very savory. I used 2T dried celery flakes, 2T dried minced onion, celery salt instead of plain and a 16 oz. bag of Pepperidge Farm brand cornbread crumbs. I forgot the eggs, as I'm not used to adding it and already had it in the dish ready for the oven, so I just left them out. This was delicious. LOVED IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
This was SOOOOOO Yummy! This year for Thanksgiving I decided to search out a recipe for the dressing my Grandma made (and my Mom and I still make) to get exact measurements. (When my mom passes down a recipe she always recites the ingredients and gives me approximate amounts (Tear up a loaf or so of bread add some onion 7 celery, oh and a little butter....you get the idea) well, This recipe has the same ingredients (plus a few more spices) but it actually came out better than ever since it was not as dry! I did a few minor tweaks based on other reviews and my desire to make it closer to my Grandma's--- I added a little more sage since their dressing was mostly a sage dressing. Plus, a little more broth since a few reviews thought it was a little dry. I put a little less thyme & parsley in, since these never part of their original ingredients, but I thought they would make tasty additions nonetheless. It was a huge hit! Everyone that is used to my stuffing was pleased, as usual, with the flavor (I think it was actually better)but love the moister version! I am used to dry dressing, so I don't like the very soppy moist versions, but this one came out as a perfect balance for us. i will be making it this was from now on! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
This is much better than the bag dressing. A bit more work, but well worth it. Very good!! Pam
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
don't make my mistake leave the bread chunks bite sized... make them quite small or it becomes a bit like buttered croutons with some flavor. Also I think a bit more liquid is necessary. Okay but not what I invisioned...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Had excellent flavor. Loved the french bread! A little too dry for us, had to add quite a bit more broth, also added a bit more sage. Will make again with these changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CMUCKEY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spencer, Iowa, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
I made this recipe excatly as it was written and it turned out dry and nobody would eat it. I guess it wasn't my family's taste. Next time I'll add more broth and just toast the bread or just let it dry out instead of drying and toasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
My family loves sage stuffing in the turkey and sausage dressing baked in the oven as a side dish. This was a perfect sage stuffing. Stuffing gleans juices from the turkey and gets moist as it cooks. For this reason I cut the egg to just one and cut the chicken broth to 1.5cups. PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
This is basically a good recipe but for my personal taste I will make a few changes next time. If you are not a fan of a strong sage taste( as I am not) I would cut the sage in half, at least. Also I almost doubled the chicken broth , and glad a did because it turned out perfect when otherwise it would have been way to dry I think. Another change I made was to put alot more celery in. 2 stalks just wasnt near enough. I think with these changes i will make this my new dressing recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cybil7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
This was the first homemade stuffing I have ever made and it got rave reviews for Thanksgiving last year!! I am definitely going to make it again this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
Really good dressing. I followed the recipe exactly with the exception of adding about 2 Tbsp melted butter to the mixture at the very end. I stuffed all but about 1/2 cup into a 13 lb turkey and it worked really well. Unfortunately, because we brined the turkey, the dressing came out a little more salty than we would have liked, but it was still really good and I won't hesitate to make it again. I made this a second time to excellent results. This time, I didn't stuff it into the bird, but rather cooked in a casserole dish. The end result was still excellent, but a little dry. If baking on its own, I would try adding an additional 1/2 cup of broth. I made this a third time, adding another 1/2 cup of broth and baked with the lid on - only taking it off for the last 15 or 20 minutes - the end result was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oyster Dressing or Stuffing

See how to make the perfect Thanksgiving stuffing for seafood lovers.

Holiday Dressing

This savory dressing stars pork sausage and corn bread.

Gourmet Sweet Potato Classic

See how to make a top-rated sweet potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States