Classic Thanksgiving Dressing With Parsley, Sage and Thyme Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I use this every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
I made this recipe for Thanksgiving without first trying it and my mother-in-law said it as "perfection" and I have to say I agree (I'm usually more of a cornbread dressing kinda girl). It was so delicious I'm making it again tonight to serve with a chicken I'm roasting. When I made this recipe the first time I used fresh herbs and increased to 1 TBL or so, but tonight I'm going to use the dried herbs and I'm sure the results will be just as delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
not enough herb flavor for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
We made this stuffing for our Christmas dinner yesterday, and we loved it! Neither my husband or I usually like stuffing so we were surised we liked it this much. We did exchange the celery for apples and added Italian sausage to go along with our meal a little more. One thing that we really liked about it was that it wasn't really moist, we tend to not like soggy stuffings very much so this was great! Thanks for this delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
This dressing was very good. I used French bread. I needed about three times as much liquid as the recipe calls for and even with that much liquid, the bread cubes were not soggy at all. The flavor is very good, but if you like your dressing really wet, this is not for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
My mother usually makes the dressing for our Thanksgivings, but she was out of town this year, so I tried this one. It's very close to the simple, yet delicious one she makes. It was good, but I had to add more liquid (turkey stock). As is, it was on the dry side. I also thought it needed more sage/seasonings, so I threw in some extra. However, overall, this is an easy, yummy dressy that's great for those of us who are not dressing "experts" like Mom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
This recipe was amazing! I made a few modifications based on what I had available: I used just 1.5 onions and about half a "head," or stalk of celery (6 ribs about). In addition, I added one diced apple to the sauteeing vegetables. I omitted the parsley because my grocery store had run out. I didn't have dried sage and thyme, so I used two teaspoons of poultry seasoning in its place. I added 1/4 cup of raisins into the final mixture (before baking). Finally, I felt like the recipe needed closer to 3 cups of chicken broth, but add it to your desired moistness. Thank you so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
I ALTERED THE RECIPE BASED ON MY MOTHERS RECIPE THIS IS ALMOST IDENTICAL HERS. I HAD BEEN LOOKING FOR ALL THE INGREDIENTS! lOVE IT! i DID ADD CHICKEN LIVERS 1 LB AND 1 LB GIZZARDS BOIL THE INGREDIENS WITH THE CHICKEN PARTS INSTEAD OF SAUTEE. REMOVE THE VEGGIES AND CHICKEN PLACE INTO A BOWL AND COMBINE BREAD SLOWLY USING THE JUICE THE MOISTEN IT. ADD THE 2 EGGS AT END TO COMBINE THEN BAKE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
Made this last Thanksgiving....great base and I changed nothing. Next time I will add .5 more seasonings for a little more kick. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Napanee, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Oyster Dressing or Stuffing

See how to make the perfect Thanksgiving stuffing for seafood lovers.

Holiday Dressing

This savory dressing stars pork sausage and corn bread.

Gourmet Sweet Potato Classic

See how to make a top-rated sweet potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States