Classic Texas Caviar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
Great recipe. Great as a dip with chips ( or Fritios scoops) or served with grilled chicken or flank steak. I start wih one can each black beans and black-eye peas, rinsed well. From there I add in sliced fresh grape tomatoes , 1 ear fresh corn, half a diced red onion, one seeded and diced japelono pepper and half of a diced green or red pepper. For the dressing I follow the recipie as written except for adding a bit more S&P, cumin and about a half tablespoon of balsamic vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2015
Really good with great responses from our guests! Healthy, easy and fast. Also easy to adjust to individual preferences!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
I normally absolutely despise blackeye peas, but in this preparation, I could literally eat a gallon of them. I love that this recipe is really healthy, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HurdBird

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
We had never tried black-eye peas, and I heard they were a New Year's Day necessity for 'good luck'. Made this salad up in the morning so it had all day to meld. The flavors blend well together. It would be great to use with tortilla chips, but we ate it as a side salad to go along with pork and sauerkraut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
I've made this 10+ times, each time a little different depending on what I have on hand. Today's version has a can of black beans and one of black eyed peas. Other times it might be garbanzo beans instead. I use about 1/2 of the small cans of jalapeno slices (diced up) instead of the fresh jalapeno. And I always add about 1/2 cup of frozen corn kernels (they quickly thaw while marinating). Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XineRevelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: North Charleston, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
This is so delicious! I used Hepworth Farms mixed cherry tomatoes and cut them in half instead of diced canned tomatoes. Also, I used half the seeds from one of the jalapeños for a little spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
YUM. Used fresh tomatoes and one pepper and a little less black pepper. But pretty much just followed the recipe exactly. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
I added half a bag of frozen corn to this. Everyone that tried it loved it. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
This is a nice alternative to a more tomato-centric salsa, and a nice change of pace. It's good scooped up with chips, used to top tacos or nachos, or scooped onto a bed of greens as a cold salad. I usually dice up an avocado and throw that in, if it's going to be eaten in one sitting by a large group (avocado will brown if it sits too long, even with the acidic vinegar and spices). I have also done it with one can of black beans, one can of blackeyed peas, and it's good either way. As with most Tex-Mex-ish things, I've found it to be worth the additional effort to grind fresh cumin from seeds if you have a mortar/pestle or molcajete. The difference in flavor is stunning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessie Robinette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
I made a batch for 120 people at a wedding, it was gone before the bride and groom were done with the pictures! I use a red onion and extra cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Caviar I

Black beans and black-eyed peas are marinated in a fiery dressing.

How to Make Classic Swiss Fondue

Make this classic, creamy Swiss fondue with the shredder of your food processor.

Caviar "Fish and Chips"

See how to make an elegant party appetizer that’s beyond easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States