Classic Texas Caviar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
This was awesome! Made it as directed and it came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
This is a little time consuming, but well worth it. I substitute black beans for black eyed peas. I'm always asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
My middle schooler considers this the "ultimate after school snack"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
This is wonderful! I made my own black eyed peas just to cut down on sodium. I also added one ear of fresh corn on the cob, used green bell pepper because that is what I had and I was out of cilantro. I also had to use Mezzeta tamed japolenos because I didn't have any fresh. Main point... ALL my kids LOVED it!! pretty good to get the kiddos eating some more healthier sides, hey are 5, 7 and 9!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kaklrf5

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mesquite, Texas, USA
Living In: Forney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
This is SO good. Next time I think I will throw a can of corn in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
OMG - this was awesome. I subbed one can black beans for one of the black eyed peas, added yellow hominy and switched the yellow pepper to an orange one for color. Unlike a previous reviewer I used Balsamic vinegar and thought it was fine. I used the leftovers to make wraps with diced chicken and some avocado. I could eat this forever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathryn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
Very very good. I only use 1 can of black beans, add a can of corn, use fresh tomatoes and garlic, and make half the dressing (with almost full amount of spices). After 5 tries, this is the way we like it best. Also, it's not necessary for the fresh pepper to be a yellow or red pepper, green works just as well, and is even fresher tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
I really wanted to give this recipe 4 1/2 stars but I can't so I settled for 4. I took this dish to a get together and I had mixed reviews. I felt it was lacking something for taste, not sure what,but it could use something to sweeten it a little or maybe a little hot sauce to give it a kick. I did use black eyed peas and black beans, Rotel tomatoes, added a small can of corn, red onion, a little garlic powder and some diced avocado prior to serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
This has a perfect amount of olive oil and vinegar. I think some type of sweet flavor would have helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sausage King

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland Heights, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
I used fresh tomatoes ...juice from 2 limes and 5 jalapenos..great dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Caviar I

Black beans and black-eyed peas are marinated in a fiery dressing.

How to Make Classic Swiss Fondue

Make this classic, creamy Swiss fondue with the shredder of your food processor.

Caviar "Fish and Chips"

See how to make an elegant party appetizer that’s beyond easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States