Classic Texas Caviar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
Love this recipe! After making it several times as written, I now add fresh corn and sub a can of black beans instead of black eyed. I also use a can of Rotel instead of diced toms (undrained), and drain it all the next day. The recipe is wonderful as is, and can be modified to what you have on hand or to your preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cape Girardeau, Missouri, USA
Living In: Stratham, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
Yum! I make this all the time adding a can of corn and some lime juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
The homemade dressing really kicks this recipe off! I did end up adding a few things. I omitted the jalapeno and the yellow bell pepper. I added a can of black beans, a can of pinto beans, 2 cans of shoepeg corn and 2 cans of chopped green chilis. Everyone flipped over it... will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Norton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
YUM! I cut the recipe in half and made10 servings however it was sooo good that I ended up eating it as a meal...hence it only made 2 servings. Will definately make A LOT MORE next time and keep it in the fridge for a nice snack/lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cbbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
I liked this recipe a lot. First time trying Texas Caviar. I changed the recipe to my liking and it turned out great. I replaced canned corn for the yellow pepper (didn't have yellow pepper). I also used one can black beans and one can black-eyed peas & doubled the jalepeno pepper. Also, I used just 1 teaspoon of white vinegar and the juice of two limes, real garlic instead of powder. Options are endless... Avocado would be a great addition as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
I brought this to GNO last night and it was a hit. Everyone wanted the recipe. Next time I make this I will double the recipe and use fresh tomatoes instead of canned (a previous reviewer was correct -- if you use canned, drain very well!). Loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmySioux

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longview, Washington, USA
Living In: San Ramon, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly and it's perfect. No sugar needed. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie b

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
We love this salad and the homemade dressing makes it so much better. Good as a salad or as an appetizer served with corn chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
I followed this recipe fairly close. Only put in one jalapeno as we dont like it too hot. Added some flavor, but could use two and still fairly mild. Didnt put much olive oil as I didnt think it needed it. Also did not put cumin in as I dont care for it. I added a bit of spike seasoning which added a great flavor. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Really delicious!!! Neede a different way to serve black eyed peas for New Years day. Make sure you let it set in the fridge for at least an hour to let the flavors meld. It really males all the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Caviar I

Black beans and black-eyed peas are marinated in a fiery dressing.

How to Make Classic Swiss Fondue

Make this classic, creamy Swiss fondue with the shredder of your food processor.

Caviar "Fish and Chips"

See how to make an elegant party appetizer that’s beyond easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States