Classic Texas Caviar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
This is soooo good (and pretty good for you if you eat it with tortilla chips and not Fritos)! Of course, it tastes best with Fritos but you can make it healthy if you want. Fantastic recipe! This one is definitely a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Napa, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
This was a surprise hit at my last family party. I had an uncle in town who is vegan, so I tried to find something extra I could make for him to enjoy besides salad! My in-laws who are usually very resistant to trying anything new and different devoured it, and were asking for the recipe. Mine was a little on the blander side because I only used 1 jalapeno, and removed all the seeds and ribs because I didn't want it to be too spicy. So I had to re-season it with some salt, pepper, and garlic powder after it was refrigerated. So, just like the recipe states - taste and adjust the seasoning to your liking. I would make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan U.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
This was very good. I used green onions instead of yellow and added a chopped habenero for some heat. Great with chips or alone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homestead, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Natrona Heights, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
Really good and easy to make, I do recommend chilling it for a few hours before you serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ponca City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
This is an excellent recipe except I added a can rotel original tomatoes, instead of plain tomatoes and fresh garlic. Very tasty, mahalo for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kekaha, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
My husband loved it. Asked me to make it again. Change a couple things for our taste. Black beans instead of black eyed peas and no jalapenos. Still great. Definitely make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karkar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
This was awesome and I will definately make again. Word of caution: WHEN CHOPPING THE JALEPENO PEPPER, WEAR GLOVES!!! I had some weird reaction and my hands burned like they were on fire for about 6 hours. It was horrible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
This is always a hit at parties because it's light and easy to eat. I serve w/ Tostitos scoops. It makes it easy for people to walk by and grab a bite without spilling it off the chip. The only change I make is black beans for the black-eyed because of preferred taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
I loved this! I had never had it before but it was delish. I had about a half can of black beans and added that as well, and used some red onion for the onion in the recipe. Great on tortilla chips and as the filling in lettuce wraps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosie
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
VERY YUMMY! Perfect for a football party
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Caviar I

Black beans and black-eyed peas are marinated in a fiery dressing.

How to Make Classic Swiss Fondue

Make this classic, creamy Swiss fondue with the shredder of your food processor.

Caviar "Fish and Chips"

See how to make an elegant party appetizer that’s beyond easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States