Classic Texas Caviar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
I thought this was a nice appetizer/dip. Everyone seemed to like it. I especially liked it that I could make it a few days before and let it sit in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessika393

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
I've made this many times before using Good Seasons salad dressing as the "marinade" - while that is good, this is MUCH better. A subtle yet tasty twang - I used Rotel tomatoes (blue can) beans, corn, black eyed peas, small diced chiles, some chopped jalapenos, cilantro, green onion and a couple squirts of lime juice - addictive way to squeeze in veggie servings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waxhaw, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
This recipe is good.It's even better warm without the vinegar and add shredded cheddar cheese and serve with tortillas. Much tastier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Made this for New Year's Day and it was wonderful! We thought it was just right - I used two jalapenos but removed all seeds and most of the ribs... For our family - the heat was just right. A keeper - Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ga.Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
This i an excellent party 'salsa'. I've made this a few times and loved it everytime. I do add a little more salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
I made this for a Christmas Eve gathering and it was such a hit!! Everyone loved it. I made it EXACTLY as written and served with Tostitos Scoops. Deliscious!!!! We really liked the black eyed peas, try them even if you think you won't like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TracyD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
I had to make this recipe for a dinner group. It ended up being enough for our dinner party as well as another small party the next night and I still had left overs! My husband talks about it often. I used evoo because it was all I had. I served it with tortilla chips. I did drain out a little of the liquid because there seemed to be too much, but I think it would have been just as good with it all. I am definitely going to make again and again. It's a refreshing change to regular salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
Oh my gosh. This is soooo good! I used canned black beans instead of black-eyed, fresh tomatoes, and I added a lot of corn. It was delicious! I made 1/2 batch and it was gone within the hour. Very healthy too. This will be a regular item at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
This is soooo good (and pretty good for you if you eat it with tortilla chips and not Fritos)! Of course, it tastes best with Fritos but you can make it healthy if you want. Fantastic recipe! This one is definitely a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Napa, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
This was a surprise hit at my last family party. I had an uncle in town who is vegan, so I tried to find something extra I could make for him to enjoy besides salad! My in-laws who are usually very resistant to trying anything new and different devoured it, and were asking for the recipe. Mine was a little on the blander side because I only used 1 jalapeno, and removed all the seeds and ribs because I didn't want it to be too spicy. So I had to re-season it with some salt, pepper, and garlic powder after it was refrigerated. So, just like the recipe states - taste and adjust the seasoning to your liking. I would make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan U.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Caviar I

Black beans and black-eyed peas are marinated in a fiery dressing.

How to Make Classic Swiss Fondue

Make this classic, creamy Swiss fondue with the shredder of your food processor.

Caviar "Fish and Chips"

See how to make an elegant party appetizer that’s beyond easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States