Classic Texas Caviar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
I normally absolutely despise blackeye peas, but in this preparation, I could literally eat a gallon of them. I love that this recipe is really healthy, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HurdBird

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
We had never tried black-eye peas, and I heard they were a New Year's Day necessity for 'good luck'. Made this salad up in the morning so it had all day to meld. The flavors blend well together. It would be great to use with tortilla chips, but we ate it as a side salad to go along with pork and sauerkraut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
I've made this 10+ times, each time a little different depending on what I have on hand. Today's version has a can of black beans and one of black eyed peas. Other times it might be garbanzo beans instead. I use about 1/2 of the small cans of jalapeno slices (diced up) instead of the fresh jalapeno. And I always add about 1/2 cup of frozen corn kernels (they quickly thaw while marinating). Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XineRevelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: North Charleston, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
This is so delicious! I used Hepworth Farms mixed cherry tomatoes and cut them in half instead of diced canned tomatoes. Also, I used half the seeds from one of the jalapeños for a little spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
YUM. Used fresh tomatoes and one pepper and a little less black pepper. But pretty much just followed the recipe exactly. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
I added half a bag of frozen corn to this. Everyone that tried it loved it. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
This is a nice alternative to a more tomato-centric salsa, and a nice change of pace. It's good scooped up with chips, used to top tacos or nachos, or scooped onto a bed of greens as a cold salad. I usually dice up an avocado and throw that in, if it's going to be eaten in one sitting by a large group (avocado will brown if it sits too long, even with the acidic vinegar and spices). I have also done it with one can of black beans, one can of blackeyed peas, and it's good either way. As with most Tex-Mex-ish things, I've found it to be worth the additional effort to grind fresh cumin from seeds if you have a mortar/pestle or molcajete. The difference in flavor is stunning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessie Robinette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
I made a batch for 120 people at a wedding, it was gone before the bride and groom were done with the pictures! I use a red onion and extra cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Big hit with my husband and our dinner guests. Not so much with me. I reduced oil to 3 T and vinegar to 4 T. Did not add cilantro (personal preference). Diced tomatoes were a bit mushy; next time will use fresh tomatoes with seeds removed. Will make again! SusanKathleen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: May 3, 2014
Classic Texas Caviar Haiku: "I should've made more! I bet leftovers are GREAT, alas it's all gone!" Had a spontaneous BBQ and made this as written (served w/ Tostitos Scoops), and while I've made varied recipes of Texas Caviar in the past, this one blows them all away. I watched as 4 and 5 year olds, and 30 and 40 year olds alike dug into the bowl w/ delight, afterwards demanding the recipe. I can only imagine how could it would taste the longer that it sits in the fridge, so next time I'll be sure to make a larger batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Caviar I

Black beans and black-eyed peas are marinated in a fiery dressing.

How to Make Classic Swiss Fondue

Make this classic, creamy Swiss fondue with the shredder of your food processor.

Caviar "Fish and Chips"

See how to make an elegant party appetizer that’s beyond easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States