Classic Tapioca Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Fantastic! My mom loves tapioca pudding and I made it as part of a celebration dinner. I used Minute tapioca, which I think is more like instant than quick-cooking, So I mixed the egg in after the mixture boiled, without the 5 minutes of cooking. I used a mix of fat contents in milk to make it about 2%. I also added a little extra sugar (because my family likes it more sweet) and served it cold with nutmeg on top. Creamy and delicious flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Absolutely delicious, and worth the time and effort. I used 2% milk instead of whole milk and it turned out just fine. I might go with a little less sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
This is a great recipe. I have been making it with skim milk and it still comes out thick and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Made this for my mom, who enjoyed the taste. I did double the pure vanilla extract as a few others mentioned and I'm definitely glad I did, because the vanilla flavor was still mild. My only complaint - and I wouldn't have deducted a start but a couple of others mentioned this as well, so I don't think it was just me - was that this pudding was beyond thick when completely cooled. Mind you, except for the vanilla I followed this recipe EXACTLY. Not one single deviation in timing, measurements, heat settings, anything that could have caused the pudding to set up so thick. It was truly beyond thick, it was gelatinous. My stove is a very precise, professional grade, gas stove so it's not like my electric burners were wonky. Because I have no clue how this pudding turned out like this (my Mom assures me it's not supposed to be like that...and she's a Tapioca pudding fanatic)because I am certain I did everything exactly according to the recipe, that's why I only deducted one star because I'm wondering if the consistency has something to do with something unwritten (stir, don't whisk; humid days it should cook less; something). I will use this recipe as a guide and make it again, but I will increase the milk to 3 1/2 cups or 4 cups (like in the Meadowwood Tapioca recipe on this site) to see if that makes this a Tapioca pudding and not a Tapioca gelatin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrandonsMom11197

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
I liked it. It's a plain tapioca pudding, exactly what I was looking for. Did make one change to it: used large tapioca, which meant I soaked them for about 12 hours and adjusted cook time as needed for thickness. Almost forgot, I also doubled vanilla. Definitely be careful with the heat on the stove: heating/reheating milk/cream on a stove top the rule is that as the heat goes up from minimum, the amount of stirring goes up. At around medium you should keep this moving constantly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
Yes this is the classic minute tapioca recipe but it is a good basic. In our family, we add the egg yolks with the milk mixture and whip the egg whites separately. After the mixture has cooled, we fold in the egg whites (it will look lumpy but this is how it should look). Then we fold in one can of drained crushed pineapple. Chill and serve topped with whipped cream and the optional, but favorite maraschino cherry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
very good i used honey instead of sugar {about four tbsp} and i used almond milk instead of milk works just as well thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
This is a fine basic recipe for tapioca, with one exception. There is no need to fear using small tapioca in place of instant, and it does not require any soaking. Many would-be tapioca cooks shy away from cooking tapioca for that very reason. I would also recommend cooking on medium rather than medium high to avoid scalding , which is very easy to do. Slow cooking is always better than scalded. I love this with a spoonful of fruit preserves on top, or fresh fruits of the season, even better. The tartness of fresh fruit makes the tapioca seem sweeter by contrast. I also advise being sure the tapioca balls are soft, taste test, before removing from heat, but try to remove from cooking before it is fully thick. It will thicken a great deal more in the refrigerator. Tapioca Pudding is a great comfort food treat, and this shines so far more than the fake stuff sold in little plastic cups, no contest! It is not difficult at all, but like good cooking always does, it requires the attention of a loving cook. I have made this 5 times, always with non-instant tapioca.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
This was the best tapioca pudding I have ever tasted. The only changes I made was using organic medium tapioca that I soaked for 2 hours and because I don't like things sweet I cut the sugar in half. My family loved it. We ate had it chilled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
Made mine in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Meadowwood Tapioca Pudding

See what it takes to make a complete “homestead meal” including tapioca pudding.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States