Classic Stuffed Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I gave a 3 for 'as is". This is a base for the way I do mine. I use sage, poultry seasoning, celery salt, and salt and pepper in mine, along with an egg. I usually toast my own bread for this. I always find that I need way more liquid. I use all chicken broth rather than water because I find that it dilutes the flavor. I like this recipe bc it reminded me of my mom's stuffing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wenonah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
this is my go to recipe now. every time i make it my family just raves about the stuffing!! i do add more celery and onions just because i like more. but its great if made following the recipe. thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Only made the stuffing but loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sberrystephcake

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Port Orange, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Delicious stuffing recipe. Loved it with the mushrooms. Used dried sourdough bread chopped into cubes instead of 'stuffing cubes.'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Made this today for Thanksgiving....so glad I wasn't having guests! Not sure where I went wrong.... I did not add any water to the bread mixture as it was already very, very moist...I did add 2 more cups of bread. When I removed the stuffing from the turkey it was like "slop" so runny and soggy. I followed directions as posted but it was not good! I will go back to my old recipe that I have been using for the last 30 years!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
I am only reviewing the stuffing - I brined my turkey and prepared in my usual way. I stuffed the turkey with this stuffing and baked the extra in a casserole dish. The stuffing is perfectly delicious and will now (dare I say) replace Grandma's old savory plain stuffing. I love the addition of the mushrooms and I am NOT a mushroom fan. I chopped the mushrooms to make them less noticable. Everyone loved this stuffing both the "turkey stuffing" and the casserole were gone - I could have easily doubled this recipe to allow for leftovers - it really is THAT good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SandraJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
I added Pork Sausage and it was the Best stuffing ever
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I use this stuffing recipe all the time, usually make it in a casserole dish and back separately and boy is it good, just like my Mom used to make. I omit the mushrooms and I use stale bread because that's the way Mom did it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Slippery Rock, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
This rating is for the stuffing; I did not make this turkey. OMG! This was definitely the best thing on the table and I got numerous compliments. I've never liked stuffing, and I've been craving this ever since! The only change I made was using homemade bread cubes out of french bread from this site (French Bread Rolls to Die For). Oh, and since I was cooking this separately from the bird, I squirted some of the drippings into the dish as well. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portage, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
I used this recipe at Thanksgiving . I left out the mushrooms and added gizzards . I was great and recipe was easy to follow .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States