Classic Strawberry Shortcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
Excellent! Made these for guests last night. I neeeded a quick, easy to fix, seasonally appropriate dessert to serve with our summer meal. This met my expectations exactly! :) As with any recipe, I have a few suggestions for improvement. The next time I make these (there WILL be a next time!), I will substitute heavy whipping cream for milk (for richness) and add a bit of vanilla (to enhance the overall flavor) as others have suggested. I baked my shortcakes for 11 minutes, but feel they would have been fine at the 9 minute mark. After sititng for 10 minutes, these split beautifully (i.e. no crumbles!). NOTE: My grocery store only had 2 lb. containers of strawberries. This recipe instructs to add 1/2 c. sugar to a quart of strawberries. There are approximately 1.5 lbs. of strawberries in a quart (this conversion ONLY applies to strawberries; with any other ingredient, you cannot convert from pounds to quarts). I added 3/4 c. sugar to mine with great results. Filled with the delicious strawberry mixture and Cool-whip, this was really a great treat - and my guests couldn't have agreed more. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2009
I wanted more of a cake consistency as opposed to biscuits, so I added 2 eggs and an additional tbsp of sugar. I used a hand-held mixer to get the batter nice and smooth, and poured into a jumbo sized muffin tin. I baked them at 325 for about 25 minutes. This yielded 6 perfect shortcakes that were easily sliced in half to layer fresh whipped cream and strawberries. I chilled the fresh strawberries mixed with sugar for 30 minutes before serving….makes wonderful strawberry syrup. I used the “whipped cream” recipe on this site and sub’ed granular sugar for confectioner’s sugar. I think these were the best strawberry shortcakes ever and my fiancé agreed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
i added 3/4 tsp. cream of tartar and a little bit of lemon juice and it was SO YUMMY! i think we could have eaten the shortcakes alone! splitting them was not a problem--we just crumbled them up in a bowl, added sugared fresh strawberries, and topped it with whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Raytown, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
I'd give this 4.5 stars if I could. They were great for what they are, and it couldn't have been easier. I used heart healthy Bisquick, and it still turned out fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alex
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
I love this tried and true recipe. Always a hit and never fails me. Next time I will try the almond extract like suggested by another reviewer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
These were very simple and easy to make. They taste great! However, be aware that they are too fragile to be split and filled...this didn't bother us of course. A family favorite now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
These came out EXCELLENT and were so quick. I doubled the batch, used heavy whipping cream instead of milk, and added 1 tsp almond extract which made them awesome. 9 minutes in my oven made them golden. I will make these all the time now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Coppell, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
Amazing! Light, crunchy on top, soft in the middle.... perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
Very good, but very delicate and didn't rise much so I wasn't able to split these. They certainly would have crumbled had I tried. I used homemade bisquick/biscuit mix and half and half instead of milk. I used a strawberry syrup that I made earlier and drizzled some hot fudge topping that I found in the fridge. These were good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
Fast, easy and wonderful, how can you beat that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raynham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Strawberry Angel Food Dessert

Layered dessert with angel food cake, cream cheese, and strawberries.

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States