Classic Strawberry Shortcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
Excellent! Made these for guests last night. I neeeded a quick, easy to fix, seasonally appropriate dessert to serve with our summer meal. This met my expectations exactly! :) As with any recipe, I have a few suggestions for improvement. The next time I make these (there WILL be a next time!), I will substitute heavy whipping cream for milk (for richness) and add a bit of vanilla (to enhance the overall flavor) as others have suggested. I baked my shortcakes for 11 minutes, but feel they would have been fine at the 9 minute mark. After sititng for 10 minutes, these split beautifully (i.e. no crumbles!). NOTE: My grocery store only had 2 lb. containers of strawberries. This recipe instructs to add 1/2 c. sugar to a quart of strawberries. There are approximately 1.5 lbs. of strawberries in a quart (this conversion ONLY applies to strawberries; with any other ingredient, you cannot convert from pounds to quarts). I added 3/4 c. sugar to mine with great results. Filled with the delicious strawberry mixture and Cool-whip, this was really a great treat - and my guests couldn't have agreed more. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2009
I wanted more of a cake consistency as opposed to biscuits, so I added 2 eggs and an additional tbsp of sugar. I used a hand-held mixer to get the batter nice and smooth, and poured into a jumbo sized muffin tin. I baked them at 325 for about 25 minutes. This yielded 6 perfect shortcakes that were easily sliced in half to layer fresh whipped cream and strawberries. I chilled the fresh strawberries mixed with sugar for 30 minutes before serving….makes wonderful strawberry syrup. I used the “whipped cream” recipe on this site and sub’ed granular sugar for confectioner’s sugar. I think these were the best strawberry shortcakes ever and my fiancé agreed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
i added 3/4 tsp. cream of tartar and a little bit of lemon juice and it was SO YUMMY! i think we could have eaten the shortcakes alone! splitting them was not a problem--we just crumbled them up in a bowl, added sugared fresh strawberries, and topped it with whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Raytown, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
I'd give this 4.5 stars if I could. They were great for what they are, and it couldn't have been easier. I used heart healthy Bisquick, and it still turned out fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alex
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
I love this tried and true recipe. Always a hit and never fails me. Next time I will try the almond extract like suggested by another reviewer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
These were very simple and easy to make. They taste great! However, be aware that they are too fragile to be split and filled...this didn't bother us of course. A family favorite now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
These came out EXCELLENT and were so quick. I doubled the batch, used heavy whipping cream instead of milk, and added 1 tsp almond extract which made them awesome. 9 minutes in my oven made them golden. I will make these all the time now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Coppell, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
Amazing! Light, crunchy on top, soft in the middle.... perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
Very good, but very delicate and didn't rise much so I wasn't able to split these. They certainly would have crumbled had I tried. I used homemade bisquick/biscuit mix and half and half instead of milk. I used a strawberry syrup that I made earlier and drizzled some hot fudge topping that I found in the fridge. These were good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
Fast, easy and wonderful, how can you beat that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raynham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States