Classic Spicy Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
This will be my new "go to" Meatloaf recipe. I used ground pork instead of the sausage, eliminated the green onions, changed plain bread crumbs to flavored. I didn't have any unsalted butter in the house, so I used salted butter and decreased the salt in the recipe. Also, I decreased the onion, garlic & pepper by half, the taste was AMAZING!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janice R Hoffses

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Classic Spicy Meatloaf Haiku: "Now THIS is the one, to replace other meatloaves. We loved it that much!" So maybe I have to drop the "spicy" from the title, at least for ours, b/c I used regular ground pork. (OK, but then I dipped mine into ketchup that I'd mixed w/ Sriracha sauce, so that gave it a kick!) Only other subs I had to make were crushed Saltine crackers instead of breadcrumbs and dried parsley instead of fresh, and 1 lb. ground beef to 1/2 lb. pork. Ohhhwowowow served this on Christmas Eve, and we were blown away. I froze the few leftover slices, knowing that the following days would be infused w/ turkey, dressing and holiday trimmings, and when I thawed and re-baked it wrapped in foil, I couldn't believe how delicious it still was. I have a feeling this will replace all meatloaf recipes in my recipe box, and I love that it's got more veggies in it than just onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
I found this recipe last night because I had sausage to use before it went bad. The only deviation from the recipe was using mild sausage instead of spicy. My family absolutely loved it, and my 5 year old asked me what smelled so good when I was cooking the vegetables - he was surprised something as yucky as vegetables could smell so good! We will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
I wasn't thrilled with this recipe. It was OK, i didn't like the taste of the sausage, it overwhelmed everything. I made it as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baslhicks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
This is absolutely delicious meatloaf.ONLY change i made is I replace the spicy pork with chorizo!!! Fabulous! Best meatloaf ever!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Meatloaf with a kick! Eliminated the carrots and celery. Used Italian flavored bread crumbs and went with the brushed BBQ sauce on top. Will never go back to regular meatloaf again! Made too much mixture the first time around so I set aside the extra, formed it into meatball shape and made BBQ meatballs the next day. Still yummy either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
I usually follow recipes exactly the first time I try them but I was browsing for meatloaf recipes based on what I had on hand. I didn't have carrots or celery, and I don't think they belong in meatloaf anyhow. I used 2 pounds of pre-packaged meatloaf mix (ground beef, ground pork, and ground veal). I used diced yellow onions instead of green onions, and I was out of garlic (didn't know it till it was too late) so I substituted garlic powder. Then I pulled out my bread crumbs to find that they were Parmesan flavored. Oh boy, I thought this was going to turn out to be a mess but IT WAS AWESOME!! Kudos to Angela on a wonderful basic recipe that can be tweaked and still turn out fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MHudson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Photo by SunnyDaysNora
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Best meatloaf ever! I made a few changes but stuck with the same basic recipe. I omitted celery and carrots because of my families tastes and added a little celery salt in place of regular salt to compensate. Rather than breadcrumbs I used oatmeal soaked in about a 1/4 C of milk. I also added a couple of Tbsp of mustard to the meat mixture and brushed with BBQ sauce before cooking. Wonderful! UPDATE: I have made this at least 5 times in the last couple of months, and it's still amazing! I've made it with the world's cheapest pork sausage- still amazing. I've substituted ground chicken (not exactly the most flavorful of meats in something like this)- STILL amazing!! I always use low-sugar ketchup and it doesn't impact the flavor. I've even subbed ground pork rinds for the bread crumbs (a low carb trick...) and guess what? STILL AMAZING!! I doubt I'll ever try another meatloaf recipe again, this one is a winner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Meatloaf

Discover the secrets to moist, flavorful baked meatloaf.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

A simple, no-fail beef meatloaf with a tangy topping that's ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States