Classic Spanish Sangria Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
This is a great recipe. I made this for a 4th of July cookout...and it was a hit. I only gave it 4 stars because I don't feel the sugar is necessary. I made it with Arbor Mist Blackberry Merlot and Parrot Bay Lime Rum...and followed the recipe exactly. It was a bit too sweet. But still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
The original recipe is great! You can also improvise. I didn't have any red wine or brandy, so I used Zinfindel, mango rum, and plain rum. Had no fruit on hand so I used orange liquere. For a little carbonation I used a small bottle of sparkling tangerine juice. The point is, when in a pinch, you can use some subsitutions and still end up with a great drink.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
This is my go to basic sangria recipe. I took another reviewers advice and used Blackberry Merlot instead of dry red wine. This also eliminates the need for the 1/2 cup of sugar since the Blackberry Merlot is a sweetened wine. I like using spiced rum such as Captain Morgans. I soak the fruit (I usually add strawberries) in the rum several hours before putting the other ingredients. A bonus is getting to eat the rum/wine soaked fruit afterwards :) Very yummy, there are never any leftovers!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
A little too sweet, but otherwise so tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
everyone enjoyed this alot, I should have doubled the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Garden Grove, California, USA
Living In: Chino Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
Fabulous sangria, but it will knock you for a loop. If you are going to have people driving home, you may want to reduce the rum just a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
This must be an American version. I've had Sangria in almost very country that borders the Mediterranean and none of them had enough alcohol in them to even taste or feel it, irregardless of how much you drank.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
I love this recipe, make it every time we want sangria. I usually use Parrot Bay Passion Fruit Rum to make it more fruity tasting. SOOOOO good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: May 23, 2011
YUM! So delicious and perfectly fruity! I loved this and will make often! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
Good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Friendswood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 658) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Spanish Sangria

Watch how to make this authentic version of the popular wine drink.

Sangria! Sangria!

See how to make homemade sangria, the perfect summer sipper.

How to Make Sangria

See how to make this classic summer punch in three easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States