Classic Spanish Sangria Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Read some say that the rum was too strong for the flavor, so with that advice I put in half as much rum as called for, with the idea if it needed more I could always add more. Still with half the recommended amount of rum, it seems to strong. I think I am going to move onto another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
There are many ways to make sangria, but I wanted a basic "jumping off" recipe for sangria I could customize. I doubled the recipe to take to a party where most of the attendees usually drink beer. The recipe worked very well and was completely gone by the end of the evening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sandynork

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallastown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Cumberland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Very easy! The only thing I changed was to add one pear, as the writer suggested. So much flavor for so little work and my friends raved! I used Cruzan rum and Rex Goliath Free Range Red wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
This was a tasty, easy-to-make sangria. I cut the rum in half and added cherries. My main qualm is that what makes the sangria taste good--the citrus fruit--is annoying once you go to drink it. Do you strain the slices? Do you eat them? Eating them makes a mess. Next time, I think I'll make this sangria the same way, but before serving it to guests I'll strain out the citrus slices and throw in only edible fruits, like pineapple, apple, or cherries. I don't know how that will affect the taste, but the experience might improve?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
This was my first sangria making experience, and I'm glad I followed this recipe. I used spiced rum and Cab Sav. I messed up and added the wine and OJ with the booze and fruit (which turned out fine), and I let everything soak for 24 hours. This was less popular at my party than the White Peach Sangria also found on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
Great recipe. But, I got fruit loopy! Next time I will stick to basic recipe. Too much fruit soaked up the liquid. But it looked pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRoss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vicksburg, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Jackson, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
I've made this recipe for a summer party the last couple of years. I double the recipe, use blackberry merlot and then use berries for my fruit -- strawberries, blueberries, blackberries, raspberries. I also split up the 1 1/2 cups of rum -- usually 1/2 cup of Captain's Spiced, 1/2 Pineapple, 1/4 triple sec, 1/4 cointreau. Leave out the sugar. Powerful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRABRI89
Home Town: Lisbon, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
instead of 1.5 cups of rum i only used 1/2 cup of brandy per batch. i also did half a lemon and half a lime instead of a full one. i let the orange, lemon and lime "cook" in the brandy/sugar mixture for a day then added a diced up apple and let that "cook" for 12 hours and then added the wine. that "cooked" for another 12 hours and then in the morning of the party i added the oj. enjoy !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntington Station, New York, USA
Living In: Morristown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
A great summer alternative to beer for poolside cocktails! I use blackberry wine and Captain Morgan's spiced rum. I've had several friends tell me it's the best sangria they've ever tasted :) You might want to double this recipe--use a 1.5 liter bottle of wine and the entire 5th of Captain Morgans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
I've tried many of the sangria recipes on this site, and I have to say, this is by far the best red sangria recipe I've tried from ANY recipe site. So many of the reviews suggested reducing the rum by half and starting there (adding more if desired) so I did make that change, and I'm glad I did. I will also add a little less sugar next time (I think a quarter cup would be fine), but wow, this is fabulous!! Since the changes I made were purely my personal preference, I still feel this is a 5-star recipe, and I plan to use this as my go-to sangria recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 665) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Spanish Sangria

Watch how to make this authentic version of the popular wine drink.

Sangria! Sangria!

See how to make homemade sangria, the perfect summer sipper.

How to Make Sangria

See how to make this classic summer punch in three easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States