Classic Spanish Sangria Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 24, 2013
I made this with the blackberry merlot and spiced rum, oh my, I'm glad I planned to stay home! Very potent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
I really loved this Sangria although I made a couple changes to it. I only used 1 cup of rum and I added about 1-2 cups of Sprite as well. I also used more fruit including strawberries, peaches, oranges, maraschino cherries,apple, pear, lemon and extra lime. Also, it's tastes soooooo good with all that fruit, the sugar is just completely unnecessary, so I didn't use any at all. And I soaked the fruit in rum overnight as suggested by others. (And yes, the fruit tastes amazing after soaking, so don't let too many people taste-test it before adding to the sangria!) I also used orange juice ice cubes in the glasses as suggested by someone else. My guests raved about it and it was all gone in no time! As per the recommendation of the staff member at the liquor store I used Jackson Triggs Merlot red wine and it was delicious. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
Very festive -- made for a small potluck dinner at my house. Ideal for a spring or summer event - so refreshing! Of course I modified it based on what I had on hand -- I added some sprite and club soda (almost an entire 2 litre bottle's worth) to make a larger amount -- the sugar is necessary at that point. Also added some apricot brandy (about 1/2 cup). I had some leftover limeade made up as well so I added that (about 2 cups -- note: this was NOT substitued for the OJ -- that was added as well.) Guests raved about it and said they wanted the recipe. It did look pretty with the citrus fruit slices in a large glass pitcher.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
Made this for a Day of the Dead party. WOW...can't imagine a party without it now. Thank you!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hallsville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
This is the best recipe for sangria. However, because I am a bit of a light weight, I cut down on the rum a bit. I also recommend using fresh squeezed orange juice, it really does make a difference in the flavor. It adds a freshness that orange juice concentrate does not offer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale, California, USA
Living In: Canyon Country, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
OMG!!!! This is one kick Sangria. It sneaks up on you, be very careful! The first time I made it I used the Captain Morgan Spiced Rum and Triple Sec. It was so smooth. I used the Blackberry Merlot and it was wonderful. I used orange, lemon and lime slices. Definately a KEEPER!!! I made it the same way the next time and warned everyone to pace yourself. Look no further this is the one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I made this for our dinner guest last night, had lots of fresh Florida oranges, lemons and strawberries. I used fresh squeezed orange juice. The best part about Sangria is when the drink is gone you can still eat the fruit. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
I've served this at a couple of parties now and it's a huge hit - even with the guys! I use spiced rum and an inexpensive chillable red wine, and the flavor is wonderful. If you leave the rum-soaked fruit in the pitcher, you can keep adding red wine all evening without compromising the flavor. I like to serve it with ice and extra fruit in the glass. Watch out though - a couple of full glasses tend to knock your socks off!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Read some say that the rum was too strong for the flavor, so with that advice I put in half as much rum as called for, with the idea if it needed more I could always add more. Still with half the recommended amount of rum, it seems to strong. I think I am going to move onto another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
There are many ways to make sangria, but I wanted a basic "jumping off" recipe for sangria I could customize. I doubled the recipe to take to a party where most of the attendees usually drink beer. The recipe worked very well and was completely gone by the end of the evening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sandynork

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallastown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Cumberland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 663) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Spanish Sangria

Watch how to make this authentic version of the popular wine drink.

Sangria! Sangria!

See how to make homemade sangria, the perfect summer sipper.

How to Make Sangria

See how to make this classic summer punch in three easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States