Classic Spanish Sangria Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by kissthecook
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
I loved this recipe! I used Captain Morgan spiced rum and Arbor Mist Blackberry Merlot. I made one batch with the 1/2 cup of sugar and one batch without it and to be honest- it doesn't need the sugar at all! The wine and orange juice made it sweet enough, but not overboard. This is perfect for a romantic evening or a summer day! Loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Donna S
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
This recipe was delicious! I used a blackberry merlot and spiced rum as others suggested. I also added a half cup of triple sec. This was the best sangria recipe that I have tried thus far. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna S

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Really good recipe but has too much rum. We cut the rum in half. Some didn't like the tartness of the wine and could have used something a bit fruitier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langdon, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
This drink is so good although I put it in a glass bowl with the fruit floating but also had garnished my wine glasses with fruit as well and i let my friends pour their own everyone enjoyed this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I found this recipe on here about 5 years ago, and with a couple tweaks for personal taste, I've made it my go to red sangria recipe. To me, sangria is a year round drink, but most like it as a summer beverage. I love it with rum, like this recipe calls for, but a neutral spirit like vodka works just as well. I'm from Texas, where we like things either really sweet, or really spicy, so I double the sugar. Aside from that, if you're in a hurry, you can really just throw all the ingredients together at once and serve it over ice (which you should do anyway). If you're having a party, go ahead and do yourself a favor and make double the amount. Some people like a splash of 7up to top off their glass.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark Callahan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
I've made this a few times for cookouts and get togethers with friends. It is delicious! It goes fast. I suggest to double the recipe for serving friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
This was amazing! I used the dark rum and a dry (for me) red, "Red Fox" from Goose Watch. I did cut the rum down to 1 cup. It was great the first day, absolutely amazing the second! Though I have to admit there wasn't much left for day two. Letting the fruit soak really made a difference. Definitely keeping this recipe around. Great for parties, special occasions, just for fun
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
When I first read about rum in sangria, I thought no way! But I did it with CM Spiced Rum, strawberries, raspberries, oranges, pears, pineapple. Soaked it for about a day and a half. Added no sugar, and the wine and OJ. It was a big hit! I will definitely make it again. The only thing is you have to plan in advance. I used to make sangria with only red wine and OJ, plus the fruit and I thought THAT was good! LOL, thanks for a great simple recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KateP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kamsack, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
I substitute 1c brandy for rum -and substitute chopped apples for the lemons and limes, I also cut back the sugar alot (apples make it sweeter) we sometimes skip the OJ too let the fruit soak & add a few cloves for a kick. Just my preference reminds me more of what we had in Spain
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
This is hands down the favorite at my parties. But.....it is STRONG! Make sure your friends have lots to eat. I use two-buck chuck from Trader Joes and Bacardi light rum. It is amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 673) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Spanish Sangria

Watch how to make this authentic version of the popular wine drink.

Sangria! Sangria!

See how to make homemade sangria, the perfect summer sipper.

How to Make Sangria

See how to make this classic summer punch in three easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States