Classic Smoked Sausage Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Robin Nicole Strickland
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
The sausage is amazing, however, we did not like the mac and cheese. It tasted like the kind we used to get in school!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Nicole Strickland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Smoaks, South Carolina, USA
Photo by MommySmith
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
Oh wow! Butterball doesn't mess around when it comes to recipes. I loved it! Would definately suggest you try it. The only change I would suggest is a mix of cheddars in place of the sharp cheddar and reduce the velveeta to 2 cups instead of 3, and using 2 jars of Alfredo sauce instead of all the velveeta. The velveeta really covered those great complex cheese flavors. The corkscrew pasta was a wonderful touch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommySmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: New Market, Alabama, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
We LOVED this! I cut the recipe in 1/2 and made homemade alfredo, instead of using the jar (we like it better). This was rich, creamy and delicious! We really enjoyed the addition of the sausage too...served with some broccoli, this made the perfect weeknight meal! I will def be making this again~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by ReneePaj
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
I changed this one quite a bit because I am not a fan of processed cheese. For the cheese sauce, I omitted the onion and instead of using the velveeta cheese and jarred alfredo sauce, I made a roux with butter and flour, added 2% milk and then 12 oz. of smoked cheddar cheese along with some nutmeg and a dash of cayenne and salt and pepper. I mixed it with wagon wheel pasta and the sausage and topped as directed in the recipe. Then baked as directed. It was delicious and we loved how the smoked cheddar complimented the smoked sausage flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReneePaj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
The Butterball sausage in this dish is FANTASTIC. I think it needs about half the called for Velveeta (we found the flavor a little too strong), but otherwise this is really a great recipe - pure comfort food. I skipped the extra butter on top, it doesn't need it, and didn't use the full amount of called for Panko bread crumbs. The bread crumbs really do add a nice level of texture to the cheesy noodles. It would be great with a package of frozen broccoli mixed in as well. I found the full recipe made more than my 9x13 pan could hold, and had to use 2 baking pans to hold it all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDRA_92083

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hiram, Georgia, USA
Photo by Carrie C.
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
My boys loved this. I made it as written. Next time I would make a roux of butter, flour and milk instead of using the jarred alfredo sauce. We loved the Butterball® Smoked Turkey Dinner Sausage... it added such great flavor to this mac & cheese. I would definitely use it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mc Keesport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Leroy Township, Ohio, USA
Photo by Faith N
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
I was really surprised by this recipe (cut it in half for our family size.) For me it was a quick fix while running behind tonight. Both the boys and my husband enjoyed it (he'd die if he knew Alfredo was in it!) Would like to try it again with homemade Alfredo and different cheeses. But for a once and awhile meal that doesn't take long, this will come in handy. Also really enjoyed the sausage itself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faith N

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smoaks, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Walterboro, South Carolina, USA
Photo by Joey Joan
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
This dish is all about comfort. A little time consuming to put together but more then worth it. I will make this again just not very often. It was so creamy and cheesey and the sausage just added another layer of flavor to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joey Joan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hainesport, New Jersey, USA
Photo by QHHUNTERS
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
I started with a lighter homemade white sauce, then added real cheese to the sauce we prefer to stay away from processed cheese. I finished the recipe using the Butterball Turkey Sausage and topped with the Panko but skipped the butter. It was a good comfort food meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QHHUNTERS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Bay, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyDaysNora
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
This went over really well! Definitely not for the dieter, but sometimes you just need a rich dish like this one. I do love the idea of adding broccoli or other veggies! The turkey sausage adds a wonderful flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States