Classic Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
Fantastic! My changes: I omitted rosemary (my husband hates it) but it probably would have been good :) . I did not have white potatoes so I used sweet potatoes. I used a can of tomato sauce instead of tomato juice and omitted the flour. I borrowed another reviewers idea and added cheddar to the top. It was amazing! Thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
followed recipe to a "t" Dh loved it, youngest kids didn't care for it and teen said it tasted like sloppy joe mix in the meat. not sire if I will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Delicious! My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katek2010
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
I am not a big fan of ketchup but thought I'd give this a try. My husband thought it was tasty, but I had problems with the taste at mealtime and beyond. I think I'll go back to a real classic Shepherd's Pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
bleh, not my favorite. It's kind of a meatloaf taste. not what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Very good. I used all the same ingredients except I used ground venison for the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Delicious! Very different from the regular pub style Shepherd's Pie, but still great! I didn't add thyme or rosemary, but I did add Epicure's Roasted Garlic and Epicure's Beef and Pork seasoning. I also decided to opt out on the ketchup and tomato juice but I used 1 and a half cans of tomato paste instead. I would suggest adding the salt and pepper according to taste as I ended up using much less salt and a lot more pepper (personal preference).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ardenia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
Very good and kid friendly ;D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S*Archer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
I wanted to take a picture to add but it went so fast there wasn't enough time. I took it to my grandparents and they loved it! Two thumbs up! Even my three year old's gobbled it up! I will definitely make this again. Next time I may go a little lighter on the rosemary and thyme though. Other than that this recipe is A+.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
My husband and I love this recipe. I added a can of cream of celery soup, and Johnny's seasoning. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States