Classic She Crab Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2001
In college I worked as a waitress in a cajun resturant. The chef served a secret recipie she crab soup that was to die for. I have been looking for a recipie comparable to it and I have finally found it!!!! This is sooooooooo good!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2001
My boyfriend and I first had she-crab soup on Hilton Head Island and loved it. This soup tasted exactly like it. It is so quick and easy to make, but don't tell him that. (I did not use the eggs.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2005
Really, really good! Made as directed but had to sub clam juice for the fish stock..no problem there! Since real 'she-crab' soup is made with the roe from females which gives the soup a beautiful pale coral color I did add some cayenne to spice it up a bit and add a little color..yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
It's better than any soup I've EVER made! I chose it because one reviewer said it tasted just like the she crab soup @ Hilton Head Island. That's an understatement! It was better than most we've had there. I highly recommend. And don't skip the egg's at the end, it gives it that authentic flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2004
This was delicious! I save and freeze shrimp shells, onion skins and celery and carrot scraps so that I'll always have a base for stock. After piling everything into a pot with some water, I cleaned my king crab legs and threw them in as well. I simmered for ninety minutes and then strained. I made my roux, added my stock and used fat free half and half instead of the milk and cream. We loved this Holly and thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
This is the closest I have had to the She Crab Soup in Charleston. We do like it spicy so I added 2 tsp old bay and 1/2 tsp cayenne
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
This tasted like milk the first time I served it. I saved the leftovers and had it for lunch the next day. Then it was the best soup I've had. It was wonderful after the flavors melded. I suggest you make it ahead of time, chill and reheat. I did not use the eggs and used chicken stock for fish stock
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
Excellent recipe! I used clam juice, omitted the egg and served with hot sauce and sprinkled old bay on top when in bowls. Everyone loved it, even my brother, who is a very picky eater. I used a hand blender to puree the celery and onion before adding crab meat. If my brother had seen veggies, he would not have tried it! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2005
puree onion and celery - add a little more sherry, and 3/4 the amount of salt. Sift onion and celery prior to serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tustin, California, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2002
This is definately a creamier soup but very tasty. For those seafood lovers, this is a hit! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Emergency Crab Bisque

See how to make a super-simple, guest-worthy crab bisque.

Southwest Tortilla Soup

Discover time-saving tricks for making delicious tortilla soup.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States