Classic She Crab Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
This recipe is delicious! I left out the egg yolks and lemon juice, but I'm sure it's great with them. I wouldn't recommend using imitaion crab, even though it's much cheaper. It doesn't have the same texture as the real stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CooperCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Algonquin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
Pretty Good, I would prefer more of a creamy type soup for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danielson, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
I substituted clam juice for fish stock after reading a review. I did not add eggs. This was a very light soup. My husband loved it! I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chris p.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
I think this was a great base recipe; I don't know whether or not I did something wrong but initially the soup tasted very bland after I was finished making it, so I tweaked it just a little. I used all of the ingredients, except the egg yolks, which I compromised and just used 2 (each). For the fish stock I used Kitchen Basics (excellent company for stocks, btw) Seafood stock. Before the last step I pureed the celery and green onions with an immersion blender as suggested by other users. Towards the end I added about 5 drops of lime juice (I don't know if that did anything but my boyfriend doesn't like a strong fishy flavor so adding some probably didn't hurt), about a teaspoon of cayenne (we like our bisque spicy), about 5 drops of Worcestershire , OH and I ended up adding about 2 teaspoons of this very thick marinara I had a made a few days ago, so I suggest using a little bit of tomato paste. Then the bisque was a little watery so I had to add a slurry made with about a tablespoon of cornstarch. This ended up making an excellent bisque, with almost a dip-like consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
This tasted like milk the first time I served it. I saved the leftovers and had it for lunch the next day. Then it was the best soup I've had. It was wonderful after the flavors melded. I suggest you make it ahead of time, chill and reheat. I did not use the eggs and used chicken stock for fish stock
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
This is the closest I have had to the She Crab Soup in Charleston. We do like it spicy so I added 2 tsp old bay and 1/2 tsp cayenne
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
WE MADE THIS FOR CHRISTMAS, IT WAS ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS. WE PUT EXTRA KING CRAB MEAT IN IT, ALL DIFFERENT SIZE PIECES, IT WAS ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS, EVERYONE LOVED IT! WILL MAKE AGAIN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen N

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
It's better than any soup I've EVER made! I chose it because one reviewer said it tasted just like the she crab soup @ Hilton Head Island. That's an understatement! It was better than most we've had there. I highly recommend. And don't skip the egg's at the end, it gives it that authentic flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
I made this soup exactly as directed & both my husband & I loved it! Will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MOLLE888
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
This made for a really good soup. It didn't really taste like the she crab soup I once had in Myrtle Beach, but this was good nonetheless. I used chicken stock instead of the fish stock, but I added about a tablespoon of fish sauce to the soup to give it that seafoody flavor. For the crab meat I used backfin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Emergency Crab Bisque

See how to make a super-simple, guest-worthy crab bisque.

Southwest Tortilla Soup

Discover time-saving tricks for making delicious tortilla soup.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States