Classic She Crab Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
Not bad! I ended up adding a drop or two of red food coloring at the end because the soup just turned out too yellow without roe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by steph8608

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Wow... This is good. I also replaced the fish stock with clam sauce. I peeled the celery before sauteing. Once I sauteed everything, I ran it through a garlic press. I also used about 4 tablespoons of flour. At first I wasn't sure how many eggs I needed to boil, but I guessed and went with 4. That worked for me. I followed others advice and added some old bay seasoning, but something was still missing so I added an old favorite, Natures Seasoning, and it really perked it up. Everybody absolutely loved this soup. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
This recipe was amazing! A few changes: I used clam juice instead of fish stock, i doubled the amount of celery and green onion, added a slice of bell pepper (diced and sauteed with the green onion and celery), and I stirred in some old bay near the end for the extra flavor. I made the mistake of using imitation crab meat but other than that it was awesome. Definitely making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Not as good as it sounds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
Very glad I chose to make this recipe. The fish stock made it extra rich. I omitted the eggs and lemon, and used 2 Tbsp. of Old Bay. Thanks for an excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I followed the recipe closely and like one reviewer, even after letting it set a day, it tasted like milk. I had to spruce it up more than a little to pass it off as crab soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
did not like at all. the egg gives it a weird texture and you have to add tons of old bay or other spices to give it any favor . will not be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
Good flavors... used chicken broth in place of fish stock for personal preference..Also added a bay leaf and old bay. I made extra roux to thicken the soup- very thin without it. Not exactly what I was looking for,but very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JillyBean

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seaford, Delaware, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
This soup has great flavor, but I'm confused as to why it's called she crab soup without the crab roe. Otherwise its just creamy crab soup The roe is what gives it the traditional orangey red color and adds to the creaminess, so you rely less on cream. I substituted 1/4 cup of crab roe for some of the cream and it still came out very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I have made this dish before with other recipes and I have to say, this one is the best! I live on the east coast and I think it is as good as the best soup I have had eating out. I did understand the boiled eggs part until I did some investigating, this is actually in place of crab roe. The only critique I had was I added more flour to make the soup thicker and like many here used clam juice instead of fish stock. Lastly, I added just a bit of old bay. This soup was such a hit at my house I am getting requests for the next dinner! Thanks to Marbalet for sharing such a wonderful dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Emergency Crab Bisque

See how to make a super-simple, guest-worthy crab bisque.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States