Classic Savory Deviled Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Of all the deviled eggs recipes I've tried from this site Hubs thought this one of the best. For me these were fairly average, but he appreciated their simplicity, enjoying that they didn't have a lot of added "stuff" in them. "A deviled egg," he said, "should taste like a deviled egg."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Sarah King Kornbrek
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I made these for Thanksgiving tommorrow. I think, it is kind of hard to mess up a deviled egg. With that being said, the dill taste and garlic powder were a little stronger than I cared for when I first made them. However, the next day they tasted very good for some reason. I used Duke's regular mayonnaise and it worked well. For the dill I did use dry, but used 1/3 of the amount as suggested on my spice bottle if subbing for fresh. I made 9 eggs, so I just did 1 1/2 times the recipe. Although, I did end up adding 2-3 more spoons of mayo, after tasting, as I guess I just like them a little more creamy and a little extra dijon to taste. I decided to add a little of the dill on top for a garnish despite it being dry. I thought it looked a little like dry grass, but then after I sprinkled on some red paprika it took on a Christmasy appearance. I thought they were good, but others really liked them, so I will make them again next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah King Kornbrek

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by mauigirl
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
Eggsellent! Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I have tried five or six allrecipes.com five star recipes from this site and, frankly, did not like any of them. At all. As in, "Seriously? This was rated five stars? I can't even eat it!" However, this deviled egg recipe did not disappoint like the others. A classic egg recipe that has a bit of the tart bite that I remember and love. I made these eggs for Christmas Eve with no alterations and they were a huge hit. I made them again for Christmas Day dinner and added one thin slice of very finely chopped red onion and about 2 T (maybe less then a quarter of a stalk) of finely chopped celery and they were even better. This will be my Go To egg recipe from here on out. There is no need to try another one. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
This is my classic go-to recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
There seem to be two categories of deviled eggs: the dijon / mayo / vinegar flavor or the sweet / miracle whip flavor. Generally speaking, people tend to love one version and hate the other. As you can probably tell from the recipe, this is the dijon / mayo / vinegar version, and it's the best one I've ever used. Fantastic! Now if only my sweetheart weren't a traitorous sweet / mayo version fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MoreMagic

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Exactly what I was looking for!! The only change I made was I used half miracle whip and half mayo instead of all mayo. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
Love, love, love. Tangy, pretty and easy. It's fun to experiment with other versions but this one is the one that reminds me of the version I grew up with, it's pure comfort food and the MOST popular item on the potluck table. If you cut them on the short side and put them back in the paper carton, you do not have a dish to recover after the potluck, and they do not slide around on the way there. I sprinkle with paprika (because my Mom did) and garnish with parsley or cilantro or something fresh and green. Use Ken's Perfect Hard Boiled Egg recipe to guarantee success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wondermom
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
I followed the recipe almost exactly except I used a grainy Dijon mustard and this was delicious. So simple and easy, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vivian Li

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
Either I did do something wrong or I didn't like it it was too thin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easter Chick Deviled Eggs

A delicious deviled egg recipe gets a cute-for-Easter makeover.

Dannon Oikos Curried Deviled Eggs

Zesty deviled eggs are a hit at potlucks, picnics, or as a party appetizer.

How to Make Deviled Eggs

Learn simple tricks to making these classic hors d'oeuvres.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States