Classic Rice Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jessica T.
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
A really great side dish! I halfed mine, turned out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
Fabulous. My kids loved it. I used the leftover chicken stock from a whole rosemary-lemon-garlic chicken I made in the crockpot. Yummy side dish and made plenty for leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
Made this with brown rice in a rice cooker and it turned out really well. I used half the salt, and added a handful of minced parsley, toasted almonds, and some lemon to the cooked rice. Next time I'll omit the cayenne ... It just didn't fit the flavor I was going for. Overall, a delicious and east side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boukey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
Good overall except too much cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
Great and easy recipe. I cut out the butter altogether and just use the olive oil with no issues. I also cute back on the salt. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
Loved loved loved...I omitted the pepper, saffron and used a minute amount of sea salt...the best rice hands up...fluffy and easy and great reheated...highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
I have made this twice now and both times it has been perfect. I don't cook rice often but normally I will put twice as much liquid as the amount of rice (I had no uncooked or crunchy rice). I did put 4 cups liquid in for the 2 cups rice. I don't buy saffron due to the price but tumeric is a common substitute which I used. This rice is so loaded with flavor that to me it's almost addictive. I make this using only 2 pots; one to boil the broth and spices in and a large iron skillet that I brown the onion in and also cook the complete recipe in the oven - it works great. It's so easy to make that I can't imagine so many having trouble with it however, the cooking method is designed for the recipe and should be followed. I won't be looking for another recipe; this one is a keeper for me. Thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
Really good. I followed the recipe exactly as written omitting the saffron because I didn't have any. I will definitely make this again. Easy and very tasty considering so few ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
If you are skeptical about this method for cooking rice, just give it a try. It turns out really nice. Each grain is totally separate, not mushy at all. 1/4 tsp of cayenne is a little spicy for me but I'm weak when it comes to spice. Turns out good when I cut the butter and oil in half too. When I'm in ah hurry I just heat up the broth and skip the simmer. Still turns out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, Utah, USA
Living In: Clearfield, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
Delish and perfect every time! I made with saffron for the first time tonight, but we didn't notice a flavor difference. Considering the price of saffron, I say skip it. Some people seem to have problems with the rice not being fully cooked and/or excess liquid. My suggestions; make sure your oven temperature is right and it's covered tightly with foil, and NO PEEKING during cooking or the 10 minute rest period.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Orzo pasta and rice are cooked with butter, onion, garlic, and broth.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States