Classic Rice Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
Really good. I followed the recipe exactly as written omitting the saffron because I didn't have any. I will definitely make this again. Easy and very tasty considering so few ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
If you are skeptical about this method for cooking rice, just give it a try. It turns out really nice. Each grain is totally separate, not mushy at all. 1/4 tsp of cayenne is a little spicy for me but I'm weak when it comes to spice. Turns out good when I cut the butter and oil in half too. When I'm in ah hurry I just heat up the broth and skip the simmer. Still turns out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, Utah, USA
Living In: Clearfield, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
Delish and perfect every time! I made with saffron for the first time tonight, but we didn't notice a flavor difference. Considering the price of saffron, I say skip it. Some people seem to have problems with the rice not being fully cooked and/or excess liquid. My suggestions; make sure your oven temperature is right and it's covered tightly with foil, and NO PEEKING during cooking or the 10 minute rest period.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
Made this just now. I'm vegetarian and used chicken stock substitute but it came out perfectly baking it in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
This was awesome. I added some peas and carrots to it! Very tasty and easy to make!!! Everyone loved over the traditional stove too rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Absolutely LOVED this. It's goin go become a staple in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
My husband and I absolutely love this rice! It is the only rice we eat now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
Never cooked rice in broth before. I will always cook this way. Moist and fluffy the family loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
I love Rice Pilaf. I order it when we go eat often. This was, by far, THE BEST Rice Pilaf I have ever tasted! Followed the recipe exactly, it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
I’ve made this recipe three times now. Each time it turns out very well, but not perfect for us. The first time I made it exactly as the recipe and video stated. It was perfectly cooked and fluffy, but too much cayenne for my husband. I thought it was ok but not spectacular. The second time I cut the cayenne in half, but that time it seemed very bland to me. No one had seconds. Therefore, for method I give it five stars, but need to tweak the flavor. The third time I made these changes. I browned the rice in butter and evoo. I skipped the saffron. Added 2 stalks of celery (chopped finely), 1 sm carrot (grated), and 4 small mini sweet peppers (chopped finely) to the onion sauté. I was a little worried about the extra oil from browning the rice but it didn’t seem too greasy. For seasoning, I used 1/8 tsp cayenne and 1 ½ teaspoon ranch dressing mix instead of salt. This time a hit! Everyone had seconds but added extra salt. Next time I will double the amount of ranch dressing mix. The rice was al dente (not crunchy). We prefer our rice softer. I forgot to heat the broth. Maybe if it was hot when added to the rice the rice would have turned out softer. I don’t know if browning the rice made it harder or if using cold broth made the difference. I'll just have to try again. Poor me :) I love this recipe--it is sooo worth playing with to make it perfect for us. I have learned so much from Chef John, and this rice cooking method is the most valuable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Orzo pasta and rice are cooked with butter, onion, garlic, and broth.

Persian Rice

See how to make an actual foolproof method for cooking perfect rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States