Classic Rice Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
Came out great. Whole family liked it. (family of picky eaters and texture issues). Used an organic Wildtree veggie bullion + 3 cups of water instead of chicken stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
Excellent flavor!! It could easily be 5 full stars for me, however, 35 minutes wasnt enough time to fully cook the rice in my oven. It was still crunchy. I will be making it again because the recipe has so much wonderful flavor (I made it with the saffron), I will just be cooking it for 45-50 minutes and double checking the done-ness of the rice. I did notice that there was plenty of liquid to keep cooking the rice, but didn't realize that it was not done until I took a bite of it at the dinner table. Too late to fix it because everything else I had been cooking was done. I had it all perfectly timed, but my DH liked the flavor complexity so much he wants me to make it again, soon. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
I didn't bake this - I put it in a deep pan on the stovetop and covered it, then cooked on low until the liquid had all absorbed into the rice. Not a problem. I used 3 or 4 scallions rather than 1/2 of a regular onion, and I sprinkled parsley over the whole thing when it was done. Tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
This is good. I also like to take 1 part regular rice and 1 part wild rice and follow the same recipe and it turns out really good too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
I will never make rice on the stove top ever again! This was amazing and the rice turned out perfect. It wasn't sticky at all. Full of flavor and made for a nice presentation. Can't wait to try making brown rice this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
I'm really loving you, Chef John! Followed exactly. Was perfect, massively tasty! To the idiot who gave this 3 stars, you should try the recipe properly before rejecting it. I used basmati rice, cause that's what I had. It usually uses more water, but I did not deviate and it's perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by funmonkey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
Now the only rice my family will eat! Really tasty and perfect days later. Don't always add saffron, good either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
This is one if my favorites. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
Fool-proof. Perfect every time. Exceptional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cabot, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Tupelo, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
My family and I love this rice! The flavor and texture are outstanding. It does require a few extra pots, but is well worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Orzo pasta and rice are cooked with butter, onion, garlic, and broth.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States