Classic Red Beans N Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
It turned out horrible!!! I followed the recipe to the letter! The beans didn't cook all the way and it was just water and beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Converse, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
The Best recipe for Red Beans and Rice. Easy to prepare - taste GREAT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carthage, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
I've been enjoying this recipe for over a year now. However you choose to tweak it, it is definitely the place to start. If I could only take one recipe from this site, this would be the one. Thanks Jackie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
This is a great base recipe. I used canned black beans, dark and light red kidney beans. I still soaked them in the same manner to ensure flavor. I exchanged the ground beef for kielbasa. Save the liquid that you drain off of the beans. Cut the kielbasa into small pieces and cook with onions (I added fresh mushrooms and green peppers.) For kick, I added cumin and chilli pepper to it. I cooked a bag of rice with the liquid I drained from the beans. There should also be enough to cook the liquid into the beans and rice when it is all mixed together. Gradually add the liquid in and let it soak in. Then add more until you have used most of it or it will not soak in anymore. Hope you enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristinmu

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jcook45
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
Excellent, great flavor. Two things- one, I only used 3 quarts of water. I thought 4 seemed like a lot, and even 3 was too much. I will use 2 1/2 next time. Two- I had to let it cook for 6 hours to get to the right consistency- but it was well worth the wait. Again, probably because of too much water. This was great and I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jcook45

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Love it!!!! I omitted the ground beef and have always used ground spicy italian sausage. I also use 2 large smoked ham hocks... ( Love ham hocks) until they fall off the bone...Don't forget the ceyenne pepper!!!!! Hotter the better!!!!!! Excellent recipe....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ledrearobinson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Klemme, Iowa, USA
Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
I am from Canada and have never had red beans and rice. This was a very comforting and tasty dish and my family really liked it. The ingredients are simple and it is very tasty on a cold night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arnandlor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orangeville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
I made this and it was just like I remembered as a kid . 5 stars guys! I added finely diced green bell peppers when sauteing onions . The flavor was sooo good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren Brockett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DECAFinNW
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Just realized I had not rated this. It was wonderful - used ham hocks and chorizo instead of ground beef (Emeril says use Andoullie ? sausage, which I did not have). Can't wait to see how it tastes tomorrow. We like it HOT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DECAFinNW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidney, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
I think that it was missing something. I added more spices as per someone's suggestion...maybe it was because I didn't use sausage, but I only had the meat...but I used a smoked ham bone from Christmas ham dinner. And I missed the part about leaving it uncovered, so I had a TON of broth and no "sauce"...I'm definitely making this again to try with the sausage, I think that might make this a good 4 star recipe. As it stands, it's way too bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States