Classic Pecan Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Ok, I made my first pecan pie ever about 6 weeks ago at Thanksgiving. I loved it...but being my first time, I felt I should try out other recipes. Comparatively, this recipe is nearly identical to my first one, with just a few variations to the measurements and also using entirely light Karo (mine used half dark) and also using gran sugar instead of brown. Flavor and texturally speaking it was about the same. BUT!!!!! The simplest step ever was missing from this recipe -- IF YOU WANT TO MAKE THIS PIE...*please*, I implore you, toast the pecans first!! Nothing to it, put them all into a non-stick skillet over med heat...about 6 minutes total, and tossing if necessary to prevent burning. This is such a critical, flavor-enhancing step and it makes all the difference in the world. I promise. Happy cooking....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laredhed2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
I absolutely love this pie! This was my uncle's "secret" recipe for the longest time. When he finally told us it's the recipe from the Karo syrup bottle, I was floored! Now I can make it myself! :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
I use 2 regular pie shells plus add more pecans to recipe . Also,Changed amount of time to cook. excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
There are lots of variations on this pie, but this is the classic that our family loves the best. I do add a pinch (1/4 t) Kosher salt to the syrup mixture. I think it brings out the flavor of the nuts better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mintconditionherbfarm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
I've been making this recipe for years. Last year I added 1/4 cup of bourbon instead of the vanilla. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
You just can't beat the original.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ella Fanther

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
Here's a hint to keep the edges of the pie crust from over-browning. Spray the underside of a crust protector ring with non-stick spray and place it on the unbaked pie before putting the pie in the oven. Do not remove the ring until the pie is finished baking. The crust will still brown nicely while covered. I do this for all of my quiches and two crust pies. I make my own rings out of heavy duty foil and they work like a charm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Texas Sage

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Absolutely perfect recipe! Pieces were 1/4 of the pie sized!!!!!! Didn't change a thing! Would give it 100 stars if I could! Thank you so much for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovinghappyhome

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cranston, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this pie! I have been making this ever since I began hosting Thanksgiving, which is about 9 years ago. This really could not be simplier to mix up, and the flavor is wonderful (yes, it's supposed to be sweet)! Pecan pie is also VERY rich, so this goes a long way...This is the only pecan pie recipe that I have ever tried, and it's the only one that I will ever use~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Faith N
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
My whole family loved this pie. Turned out a little darker than I'd have liked (I was unsure when to quit baking it) but I will definitely cook it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faith N

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smoaks, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Walterboro, South Carolina, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Caramel Pecan Pie

See how to make a nutty, buttery pie with a sweet touch of chewy caramel.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States