Classic Pecan Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
It has a great taste, and it look good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
This is a classic, easy to make pie. There are variations out there but none make any real improvements. I make this one along with pumpkin pie for our annual dinner for our cancer patients - about 350 people now - and get rave reviews everytime. Don't over bake. It sets up as it cools. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Ok, I made my first pecan pie ever about 6 weeks ago at Thanksgiving. I loved it...but being my first time, I felt I should try out other recipes. Comparatively, this recipe is nearly identical to my first one, with just a few variations to the measurements and also using entirely light Karo (mine used half dark) and also using gran sugar instead of brown. Flavor and texturally speaking it was about the same. BUT!!!!! The simplest step ever was missing from this recipe -- IF YOU WANT TO MAKE THIS PIE...*please*, I implore you, toast the pecans first!! Nothing to it, put them all into a non-stick skillet over med heat...about 6 minutes total, and tossing if necessary to prevent burning. This is such a critical, flavor-enhancing step and it makes all the difference in the world. I promise. Happy cooking....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laredhed2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
The only change I make to this traditional classic family favorite is that I use 1/2 cup light corn syrup and 1/2 cup dark corn syrup. Otherwise, if it ain't broke, don't fix it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ursa2282

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elizabeth City, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
My all time favorite pecan pie recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
DH made this today. Almost all the ingredients can be found in your pantry. Amazing flavor!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Absolutely perfect recipe! Pieces were 1/4 of the pie sized!!!!!! Didn't change a thing! Would give it 100 stars if I could! Thank you so much for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovinghappyhome

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cranston, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
There are lots of variations on this pie, but this is the classic that our family loves the best. I do add a pinch (1/4 t) Kosher salt to the syrup mixture. I think it brings out the flavor of the nuts better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mintconditionherbfarm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This is the recipe my family has used for years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
I've been making this recipe for years. Last year I added 1/4 cup of bourbon instead of the vanilla. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Caramel Pecan Pie

See how to make a nutty, buttery pie with a sweet touch of chewy caramel.

Irresistible Pecan Pie

See how to make a sweet, rich, totally irresistible pecan pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States