Classic Old Fashioned Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
For an added twist use a little splash of olive juice, if your into a sweet and sour taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
I thought this was going to grow hair on my chest! This was so super strong!!! I bought some Jameson whiskey for a dinner recipe and had some leftover and decided to try a classic cocktail. This tasted like straight whiskey on ice. I tried to modify it by doubling and then tripeling the simple syrup, doubling the oranges and squeazing them, and then adding in a couple of splashes of the cherry juice from the jar as others suggested. It made it more palateable then, but it still tasted too strong to drink. I wish I wouldn't have spent the extra money now on the bottle of bitters now. It couldn't be tasted anyway. I don't know what to think? Maybe, I just don't like whiskey? Hmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
Amazing drink and my stand by selection. If Don Draper loves them, why can't you?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
In Wisconsin, brandy or Whiskey old fashioneds are made at every bar. I prefer the brandy. Often the cherry/ies are muddled in the bottom of the glass. To simplify we use 7up/Sprite rather than water and simple syrup. Some people prefer using sour mix instead. Stores around here also sell Old Fashioned mix. Bottoms up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
I'm a native Louisvillian and using any thing but Ky. bourbon is a travesty! Makers Mark is my choice. I like bitters and use about 6 good shakes. To sweeten it up use a small squirt of agave syrup. Swish it around the bottom of the glass, Add ice, 2 oz. Makers Mark. Garnish with maraschino cherry plus a little juice from the bottle and slice of orange. (May sqeeze a wedge of orange.) Be prepared for a second one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RedHotCaed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
My favorite cocktail, but is prefer Southern Comfort with a splash of club soda
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
My father had one of these when he came home from work. When we do the same it is in his honor. I keep a jar of orange slices marinating in the simple syrup in the refrigerator for this drink. We use Ancient Age bourbon which is what he used. According to the reviewer in The New York Times Ancient Age is just as good as the top shelf brands. The aroma is so evocative of my dad's favorite drink and so 5:30ish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
The brandy old fashion is THE drink of northern Wisconsin supper clubs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EDessain

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
delish! i used club soda instead of water, instead for a little bit of fizz and doubled up on the orange slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cecilia932

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Delcious! Recommend Red Stag by Jim Beam. It is infused with Cherry already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Cocktail

See how to make a classic rye whiskey cocktail.

The Old Pappy Cocktail

Watch a professional bartender put a simple twist on a whiskey sour.

Classic Spanish Sangria

Watch how to make this authentic version of the popular wine drink.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States