Classic Old Fashioned Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Agathe
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
Very satisfying. I used caster sugar and it works out fine. Don't skip the cherry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Hi! Y'all made me thirsty! Used what I had on hand. Brandy, brown sugar, "Cherries in Brandy" bought at mall during Holidays {and some of the juice}, squeeze lime and lemon juices, Brandy, and ice. Nummy! Had another sip after sitting a bit, even tastier. I think the Bing cherries make this particular one, plus brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
I am a bartender and I have never made an old fashion like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
I love muddle old fashions.When my kids were little and going wild my husband would come home and make the best muddle old fashion using CC.I go down south and very few bartenders don't know what I'm talking about so I give them the recipe.Mash the fruit real good,add a dash of bitters,a 1/2 tsp of sugar,the CC and the ice cubes.Wow it's great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
Wisconsin Style Brandy Old Fashion Sweet 1/2 to 1 teaspoon of sugar, four drops bitters, orange slice with out rind, and cherry in bottom of glass. Muddle. Add two Oz favorite brandy. Fill glass with crushed ice. Add splash of seven-up and stir. Garnish as desired. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robert Denis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
Good recipe. I like it made with Scotch. Be sure to use "the good stuff!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
I use brandy. I had a box of superfine sugar for years that I used exclusively in this drink. Shake some superfine sugar in proper Old Fashioned glass. Add a couple shakes of bitters and muddle with a cinnamon stick. Fill with ice, add shot (who measures) of brandy, slosh in some soda and a bit of cherry juice. Garnish with cherry and orange slice. Finding c-biskit's recipe has made me want an Old Fashioned. Off to the store for bitters and super fine sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
This sounds like a pretty standard old fashioned, and the way I used to make it. Now I use all fresh fruit, and it is the best ever. I combine several dashes of bitters, a fresh cherry (cut in half, remove bit, then squeeze some juice into glass and add remaining cherry). A slice of orange (a small amount if the juice is squeezed in, then twist the rind to get the oils and essence). Several ounces of bourbon (or rye, etc, but I love Makers) sugar/simple syrup (I prefer sugar in the raw or a cube, it will bring good flavor) add a splash of water and stir. You get good bourbon flavor, with just a touch of the sweet and the juice to cut it. If you are making something like an old fashioned you need to taste the bourbon, if you don't want to taste it go get a vodka red bull, or a wine cooler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
For an added twist use a little splash of olive juice, if your into a sweet and sour taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
I thought this was going to grow hair on my chest! This was so super strong!!! I bought some Jameson whiskey for a dinner recipe and had some leftover and decided to try a classic cocktail. This tasted like straight whiskey on ice. I tried to modify it by doubling and then tripeling the simple syrup, doubling the oranges and squeazing them, and then adding in a couple of splashes of the cherry juice from the jar as others suggested. It made it more palateable then, but it still tasted too strong to drink. I wish I wouldn't have spent the extra money now on the bottle of bitters now. It couldn't be tasted anyway. I don't know what to think? Maybe, I just don't like whiskey? Hmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Cocktail

See how to make a classic rye whiskey cocktail.

The Old Pappy Cocktail

Watch a professional bartender put a simple twist on a whiskey sour.

Classic Spanish Sangria

Watch how to make this authentic version of the popular wine drink.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States