Classic Molasses Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Very good! I used butter flavor Crisco and sprinkled the tops with cold water to make them crinkley. I only had to bake 8 minutes for the soft cookie. Any longer and they got hard after they cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Excelsior Springs, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Spicy, soft and delicious. Very easy to make. The only thing I changed was that I used butter in place of the shortening (what I had on hand).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shannon1976

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
Fantastic! I made the recipe exactly. My process differs in that I roll my dough in waxed paper so I can cut 'em all the same size. More control. As I cut them off, I lay one side on a saucer of granulated sugar before baking. Everything's great out of the oven, but I appreciate these most the next morning with coffee. They are BIG like Grandma's cookies, and these certainly are the crackle-top molasses typed. Beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
I changed some ingredients. I used veg.oil (3/4 c.)2 cups flour and also 1/2 cups rolled oats,no salt used.They turned out very nice,good flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
I made one small change and that was using half butter instead of all Crisco. I did chill the dough for an hour (or so) before baking. These cookies turned out perfectly. Mine were done at eleven minutes instead of 12-15. I let them cool a touch on the baking sheet, then pulled them off to cool on the counter. Perfectly spiced, nice and soft with a little chew--very nice Christmas-feeling cookie. NOTE: This does make a small batch. I used my small cookie scoop to make uniform cookies and got a little over three dozen. If you're making larger amounts for a gathering or as gifts, you'll want to double it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
I am rating this based only on my family's reviews as I don't like molasses cookies. They LOVED them! Of all the baking I did over the holidays, this was the first to go and i ended up having to make more. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Proud Canadian Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
Pretty, soft and chewy molasses cookies with just enough of a spicy bite. I made no changes to the recipe and after seeing and tasting the cookies found none are needed. I did make the cookies a little bigger than suggested, and rolled the balls entirely in sugar rather than just coating the tops. Always tempted to add vanilla when a sweet recipe doens't call for it, I resisted the temptation and found I was actually ahead the teaspoon of it I would have used - I don't think it's at all necessary to add it. These would be very attractive as large, bakery-sized cookies but in the interest of sparing Hubs and me calories we don't need, I resisted THAT temptatin as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
these are great like they are kids loved them nederland texas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vivian Latham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nederland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
I love these cookies! I have had many molasses cookies in my day and these bring me back to my childhood. I will make these over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
I'm a sucker for Ginger Molasses cookies and this one is great! I had to cut out the cloves as I was out and they still taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Ultimate Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make classic chocolate-chip cookies.

Chef John's Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make America’s favorite cookie.

Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make top-rated peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States