Classic Molasses Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
Pretty, soft and chewy molasses cookies with just enough of a spicy bite. I made no changes to the recipe and after seeing and tasting the cookies found none are needed. I did make the cookies a little bigger than suggested, and rolled the balls entirely in sugar rather than just coating the tops. Always tempted to add vanilla when a sweet recipe doens't call for it, I resisted the temptation and found I was actually ahead the teaspoon of it I would have used - I don't think it's at all necessary to add it. These would be very attractive as large, bakery-sized cookies but in the interest of sparing Hubs and me calories we don't need, I resisted THAT temptatin as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
I love these cookies! I have had many molasses cookies in my day and these bring me back to my childhood. I will make these over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
these are great like they are kids loved them nederland texas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vivian Latham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nederland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Spicy, soft and delicious. Very easy to make. The only thing I changed was that I used butter in place of the shortening (what I had on hand).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shannon1976

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
I made one small change and that was using half butter instead of all Crisco. I did chill the dough for an hour (or so) before baking. These cookies turned out perfectly. Mine were done at eleven minutes instead of 12-15. I let them cool a touch on the baking sheet, then pulled them off to cool on the counter. Perfectly spiced, nice and soft with a little chew--very nice Christmas-feeling cookie. NOTE: This does make a small batch. I used my small cookie scoop to make uniform cookies and got a little over three dozen. If you're making larger amounts for a gathering or as gifts, you'll want to double it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Very good! I used butter flavor Crisco and sprinkled the tops with cold water to make them crinkley. I only had to bake 8 minutes for the soft cookie. Any longer and they got hard after they cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Excelsior Springs, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
I am rating this based only on my family's reviews as I don't like molasses cookies. They LOVED them! Of all the baking I did over the holidays, this was the first to go and i ended up having to make more. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Proud Canadian Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
I changed some ingredients. I used veg.oil (3/4 c.)2 cups flour and also 1/2 cups rolled oats,no salt used.They turned out very nice,good flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
Fantastic! I made the recipe exactly. My process differs in that I roll my dough in waxed paper so I can cut 'em all the same size. More control. As I cut them off, I lay one side on a saucer of granulated sugar before baking. Everything's great out of the oven, but I appreciate these most the next morning with coffee. They are BIG like Grandma's cookies, and these certainly are the crackle-top molasses typed. Beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
I'm a sucker for Ginger Molasses cookies and this one is great! I had to cut out the cloves as I was out and they still taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ultimate Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make classic chocolate-chip cookies.

Chef John's Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make America’s favorite cookie.

Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make top-rated peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States