Classic Molasses Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
I was disappointed in this recipe. The cookies stay small and do not spread out as they bake. Not at all like the ones I use to make for my children which were large, sweeter and very gingery tasting. Unfortunately I can't find that recipe. I won't be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
Great easy molasses cookie. 3 hour fridge time a bit misleadingmfrom ' prep time'. Great otherwise. Pretty too. Didnt use light molasses not sure what that is...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dawn Mataczynski
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
I left out the cloves and added a bit more cinnamon and ginger, also adding a bit of cinnamon to the "rolling" sugar was a nice additive. I had to squish mine a bit with a fork before and after baking to make them more crunchy instead of fluffy they are wonderful with coffee, and the house smells great for hours!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
This is a delicious recipe with lots of spice, but not as soft as I prefer. It is more like a gingersnap than a molasses cookie in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wellsville, New York, USA
Living In: Orchard Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
Everything I expected them to be
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
I'm a sucker for Ginger Molasses cookies and this one is great! I had to cut out the cloves as I was out and they still taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
great recipe and much better than the ones i got six months later at a local bakery. first batch was gluten free for my sister for christmas they were so good i made a second batch for myself
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
I love these cookies! I have had many molasses cookies in my day and these bring me back to my childhood. I will make these over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
The timing on this is misleading--you have to chill the dough between 3 hours and overnight which surprised me because I went by the time along the top which said 30 minutes. I cooked them anyway and the dough was a little hard to work with but not too bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Cerrone

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
Fantastic! I made the recipe exactly. My process differs in that I roll my dough in waxed paper so I can cut 'em all the same size. More control. As I cut them off, I lay one side on a saucer of granulated sugar before baking. Everything's great out of the oven, but I appreciate these most the next morning with coffee. They are BIG like Grandma's cookies, and these certainly are the crackle-top molasses typed. Beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Ultimate Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make classic chocolate-chip cookies.

Chef John's Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make America’s favorite cookie.

Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make top-rated peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States