Classic Molasses Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
I was disappointed in this recipe. The cookies stay small and do not spread out as they bake. Not at all like the ones I use to make for my children which were large, sweeter and very gingery tasting. Unfortunately I can't find that recipe. I won't be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
Great easy molasses cookie. 3 hour fridge time a bit misleadingmfrom ' prep time'. Great otherwise. Pretty too. Didnt use light molasses not sure what that is...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dawn Mataczynski
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
I left out the cloves and added a bit more cinnamon and ginger, also adding a bit of cinnamon to the "rolling" sugar was a nice additive. I had to squish mine a bit with a fork before and after baking to make them more crunchy instead of fluffy they are wonderful with coffee, and the house smells great for hours!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
This is a delicious recipe with lots of spice, but not as soft as I prefer. It is more like a gingersnap than a molasses cookie in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wellsville, New York, USA
Living In: Orchard Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
Everything I expected them to be
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
I'm a sucker for Ginger Molasses cookies and this one is great! I had to cut out the cloves as I was out and they still taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
great recipe and much better than the ones i got six months later at a local bakery. first batch was gluten free for my sister for christmas they were so good i made a second batch for myself
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
I love these cookies! I have had many molasses cookies in my day and these bring me back to my childhood. I will make these over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
The timing on this is misleading--you have to chill the dough between 3 hours and overnight which surprised me because I went by the time along the top which said 30 minutes. I cooked them anyway and the dough was a little hard to work with but not too bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Cerrone

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
Fantastic! I made the recipe exactly. My process differs in that I roll my dough in waxed paper so I can cut 'em all the same size. More control. As I cut them off, I lay one side on a saucer of granulated sugar before baking. Everything's great out of the oven, but I appreciate these most the next morning with coffee. They are BIG like Grandma's cookies, and these certainly are the crackle-top molasses typed. Beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ultimate Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make classic chocolate-chip cookies.

Chef John's Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make America’s favorite cookie.

Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make top-rated peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States