Classic Minestrone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2005
Yummy!!!! This soup uses a bunch of items from my garden and it is soooo tasty. In addition to the directions, I added some Italian seasoning and used the spiral shaped noodles (took a little longer to cook). This is definitely a keeper!! Thanks Michelle!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2005
This minestrone comes closest to my Italian Grandmother's...lots of fresh vegetables, in a light and bright broth. I made this today for a group of 14. I modified it a bit by sauteeing the vegetables in the grease from a 1/4lb of smoked pancetta (you could also use bacon). Crumble up the meat and add it to the soup in the end. (yum) I also added chicken broth as well as vegetable stock, as my grandmother used to. Serve with fresh grated romano and/or parmesan cheese. If you prefer a truly vegetarian minestrone, this recipe is great as-is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by POPPASQUASH

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Tiverton, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2005
This recipe was very good. I loved all the vegetables. Everyone in my family really liked it, and we have had a lot of different types of minestrone. This definitely ranks at the top. The only thing I would change is the seasoning, I added extra because I thought it would be bland and it turned out to be a good move.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PFEFFS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2005
This was great. I added tortellini instead of elbow macaroni and it made for a heartier, stew-like soup. A new favorite in my family. AAA++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYCTERIS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawtell, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Tujunga, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2005
A good base soup, but not what I was expecting. I would add garlic next time, and definitely potatoes. Kind of bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glassboro, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sicklerville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2005
I didn't think this soup tasted much like minestrone. It felt like something was missing. Maybe spinach? Not sure but I won't make it again. I had to force myself to eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2005
This really was great- my changes: add potato and asparagus, fresh basil, bay leaf, garlic, oregano. Didn't include: zucchini (don't like texture in soup) green beans (asparagus was cheaper at the time). Used canned tomato's, added ragu, used chicken stock. ALso used onion instead of leek. Oh yea- it is incredible the next day. (so maybe I can't really comment on the recipe as is :))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2005
Perfect. This recipe is wonderful. Sometimes I add red pepper flakes to spice it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2005
My husband, being full bred Italian claims this is one of the best Minestrone soups he has had the pleasure eating. I used lots of fresh ground mixed peppers and ditalini in place of the elbow noodles. Bravo!~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2005
Everyone enjoyed this soup. I used chicken broth rather than vegetable broth because that is what I had on hand. The soup still turned out good. Thanks Michelle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fran

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Goulash

This American goulash is so tasty—and can be easily made in the slow cooker.

How to Make Minestrone Soup

See how to make classic, comforting minestrone soup.

Jamie's Minestrone

See how to make a simple minestrone soup overflowing with fresh veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States