Classic Minestrone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2015
Triple the pasta and amp up the seasoning and this is a very good soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2015
This was very good. I made a few minor changes. I added 1t of minced garlic with the veggies. I added about 1.5C of cabbage. I used 1 can of Italian garlic, oregano, basil tomatoes. Added 1/2t of Italian seasoning instead of thyme and a few dashes of cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2015
Awasome, simple. quick, healthy. A Keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mitch Ashcroft

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
So simple and so good, there could be more flavor but you can always add spice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
This was an excellent recipe! My family absolutely loved it!! Wish I would have doubled it. I did tweak it just a little...doubled veggies (zucchini/carrots) left out celery. Fresh tomatoes are out of season so i used 2 cans of plum tomatoes and added some of the juice from one can. I minced 2 garlic cloves and put that in. Left out thyme and used 2 bay leaves and a shake of Italian seasoning. Used orzo pasta instead of macaroni. You can also sub small onion for leek. Will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
Good base recipe. Two tips: 1. add 1clove of garlic with the sauteed veg. 2. intermediate step, after veg are mostly sauteed, add the tomatoes and thyme and cook for 2min. Then add a couple cups of tomato juice and reduce it down by half, THEN add the veg stock. Salting the tomato while reducing helps richen it as well. Idk why, it just works. I always add chopped kale (or spinach if you prefer) to minestrone, cause its good for you :) Also my opinion thyme and bay leaf ARE the appropriate herbs. AVOID THE TEMPTATION TO ADD BASIL. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
I made a lot of changes with spices and veggies based on other user reviews, but this recipe has always turned out great. I do use the canned tomatoes with tomato puree instead of fresh, I reduced the amount of thyme, and added an Italian blend of spices (oregano, garlic, basil, etc). This recipe does seem to get better flavor with time - it's even better as leftovers the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
I added sliced fresh mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deaconjayz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beckley, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Make ahead of time. Tastes much better day two or even day three.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Goulash

This American goulash is so tasty—and can be easily made in the slow cooker.

Chef John's Classic Macaroni Salad

This deli-style macaroni salad will always be a crowd-favorite!

How to Make Minestrone Soup

See how to make classic, comforting minestrone soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States