Classic Minestrone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
Just made this and it was yummy. After other reviewers said it was better the next day,I can't wait for tomorrow. All I did different was to add some spinach and some fresh basil,which I have an abundance in my garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
It wasn't the best minestrone soup i've ever had. But I've improvise by doubling the tomato and adding some fresh herbs like basil, parsley. Not a 5 star recipe though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MOLLE888
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
Much more flavorful after a day in the fridge! I didn't add any additional salt because my veg. stock was very salty already. I did add some crushed garlic to the pot with the veggies. This is a delicious, fresh way to get a days serving of vegetables. My boyfriend said he would have liked more pasta in the soup, in which case I would increase the veg. stock (and for those of you mathmatically challanged, like myself, 1.5 quarts is equivalent to 48 ounces of stock).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
I'd give this more stars if I could. I've done this any number of ways, plus exactly as the recipe states. One comment that I didn't see from others is to add a dash of hot pepper sauce to the broth, adds just a little extra kick that my family loves. You can use just about ANY veggies that you have on hand, I also add some diced cabbage, great! Thanks for the super recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
Excellent! I quadrupled the recipe for a dinner party so I used a combination of cannelini, dark and light kidney beans, because that's what I had on hand. I made it the night before, let it sit in the fridge, and reheated it for dinner. I think it really helped the flavor set in all the vegetables. My friends still compliment me on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne O

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bluffton, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
I didn't have a leek so I used an onion and also used chicken broth instead of veg. Thought it had a nice fresh taste. Simple recipe... I liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Treeskitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
DON'T EAT TIL YOU'VE LET IT SIT OVERNIGHT! That's my best advice for this soup. After I made it the first day, it didn't even smell good. Second day I would've given it 4 stars, by day 3 I'm giving it 5 stars (but since that's a little long to wait to eat, I'll stick to the 4 stars). I'm a picky eater: don't like cooked carrots, don't like many tomatoes, and don't get enough vegetables or beans. But stick em in this soup and I'll eat them all! My two year old will too! I didn't like how long it took to make, but I'll pay the price to eat this again. Also, I added another can of beans (turned out to be too many), put in about a cup of pasta with extra liquid (good amt of both), and put in italian seasoning. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
This was a good basic recipe. I did not use leek as the grocery store didn't have any. I also used dried thyme. Otherwise I followed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
Read the reviews and added more canned tomatoes as well as garlic. Yummy! Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
This is a great recipe. Like others I added a bit more... spinach, carrots, zucchini, and italian seasoning instead of the thyme. I also added just a few tablespoons of tomato puree and canned tomatoes instead of fresh. Also threw in a bay leaf of two and a part of a parmesan rind to richen the flavor. Also, very important to add the beans. I made it in two batches, and only put the beans in one as hubby is not a fan. The bean juice added a great dimension to the broth. Next time will definatly add it to all and just let him pick out the beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
142 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Classic Goulash

This American goulash is so tasty—and can be easily made in the slow cooker.

How to Make Minestrone Soup

See how to make classic, comforting minestrone soup.

Jamie's Minestrone

See how to make a simple minestrone soup overflowing with fresh veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States