Classic Minestrone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Great basic recipe you can tweak according to personal taste and what you have on hand. Personally, we prefer it with kidney beans, but cannelli beans are pretty good. I cut way back on the thyme, and usually use Italian seasoning. Fresh minced garlic and a couple of bay leaves add some nice flavor too. Thanks, Michelle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
4 stars as written, 5 with changes! Next time, I'll quadruple pasta to 1 cup, and add a little extra liquid (tomato sauce?) to make up for it. Also needs more seasoning - parsley, basil, oregano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CatherineO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
I really love this soup! I was trying to make something vegetarian that was similar to a minestrone at my fave restaurant. This was as good. I used Italian seasoning and chickpeas instead of cannellini beans. I also used wheat pasta. It was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
I liked the thyme in the recipe, of course thyme is one of my favorite herbs. Easy to make I also added red and orange sweet peppers and thought it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RHEA1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
Best one I have found so far! Very light, just how real minestrone supposed to be. To other raters who like more tomatoes or more of a thicker soup, please go ahead and modify it. But please dont say this is not good. This recipe is just perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally Cuadra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Okinawa, Okinawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
This turned out absolutely delicious, and I am a hard one to please relative to soups. I made some minor changes to the version I created. Revisions: • 2 cloves of fresh garlic, minced added to the end of the saute (It's Italian, right?!? I mean you gotta have some garlic!!) • 2 cups canned tomato sauce & 1 cup water with only 1 qt vegetable stock. • 1-1/2 tsp sugar (to compensate for the bitterness of the fresh tomatoes not being in season). • Substituted garbanzo beans for cannellini. • Used 1 tsp dried thyme in place of fresh. YUMMMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Prunella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
I add garlic. I also add fresh spinach about the same time I add the beans. Use Extra carrots and zucchini and use a large can of diced tomatoes undrained. Let it sit over night and wait untill your going to serve it to do the step with the pasta and beans (and spinach)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eva Hagerman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
This was very good, but only had a tiny bit of pasta. I will increase it next time. But overall the flavor was nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
I love this recipe. And it's versatile so that you can pretty much use whatever you have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Good! I took the advice of others and added diced potatos, garlic, oregano, & bay leaf -- glad I did. I also used chicken broth because that's what I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINGER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manhattan Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Goulash

This American goulash is so tasty—and can be easily made in the slow cooker.

Chef John's Classic Macaroni Salad

This deli-style macaroni salad will always be a crowd-favorite!

How to Make Minestrone Soup

See how to make classic, comforting minestrone soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States