Classic Minestrone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
This is a great recipe. I am adding chick peas instead of beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
I opted to try this but will stick with my other minestrone recipe which purports to be authentic Italian. For that, you add a potato, green cabbage (I often omit, doesn't make a difference), 2 zucchini, and you saute your veggies in stages (longest cooking first) in a 50/50 mix of butter and olive oil. Use canned tomatoes, it's fine. Also add salt, rosemany, black pepper and basil AND use beef stock/broth (unless you're vegetarian). The simmer for 1.5 hours, add the beans (no pasta) and simmer another 30-40 mins. It's a great recipe for a chilly fall day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
This is def a make ahead soup. MUCH better on day 2 although very edible one day one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jolley900

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
Tasty, easy and healthy. All the family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
This was very tasty. Instead of beans and pasta, I used a "minestrone mix" which had a few types of beans and rice (had to soak 12 hours and cook 1 hour before adding to the soup). Regardless of that change, the vegetables and amounts were perfect and we thought it tasted good both right away and after a few days in the fridge. I loved how fresh it was :) I felt like I made a fancy dish, but all I did was chop up a bunch of vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Easy to make soup. I usually leave out the leeks and add a diced onion instead. I also prefer orzo to macaroni.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Great basic recipe you can tweak according to personal taste and what you have on hand. Personally, we prefer it with kidney beans, but cannelli beans are pretty good. I cut way back on the thyme, and usually use Italian seasoning. Fresh minced garlic and a couple of bay leaves add some nice flavor too. Thanks, Michelle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
4 stars as written, 5 with changes! Next time, I'll quadruple pasta to 1 cup, and add a little extra liquid (tomato sauce?) to make up for it. Also needs more seasoning - parsley, basil, oregano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CatherineO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
I really love this soup! I was trying to make something vegetarian that was similar to a minestrone at my fave restaurant. This was as good. I used Italian seasoning and chickpeas instead of cannellini beans. I also used wheat pasta. It was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
I liked the thyme in the recipe, of course thyme is one of my favorite herbs. Easy to make I also added red and orange sweet peppers and thought it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RHEA1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Goulash

This American goulash is so tasty—and can be easily made in the slow cooker.

Jamie's Minestrone

See how to make a simple minestrone soup overflowing with fresh veggies.

How to Make Minestrone Soup

See how to make classic, comforting minestrone soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States