Classic Minestrone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
This soup was delish, but I gave it only 4 stars because I did add a couple things...I added 1 clove of minced garlic to the veggies, and I added half of a can of tomato paste. Even my 8 month old LOVED this soup. I plan to double it next time so I can freeze one! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
Even my picky kid ate some vegetables with this soup. It was that good! Tasted very authentic to me. I gave it four starts instead of five because I had to add some tomato paste to richen the broth and used a bit of garlic, too, just because.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
Great soup. I did make substitutions but that's the sign of a good, basic recipe. It can take altering and still be good. We used chopped onion instead of leek; canned tomatoes instead of fresh; kidney beans instead of green or cannellini beans; and more pasta than called for. Regardless, my daughter and I really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
Good, but as said many times before, lacking. Hardly "classic" as minestrone has been in Italy since Roman times, and everybody knows Romans didn't have tomatoes. Decent modern recipe, though...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
This is a good base for Minestrone but if someone wants a more substantial soup, try making it with beef broth using oxtails. I use a pressure cooker to cook the oxtails in water, with some chopped onions, salt and pepper. Then you can proceed as in the recipe, except I add cabbage and instead of thyme, I season it with a tablespoon or more of pesto. The oxtails will be very tender, so you can have them with your soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Missouri City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
I have not made this yet, but a word about minestrone: Marcella Hazen sautes onions, carrots, celery, green beans, and cabbage in butter/olive oil mixture for 3 min each, consecutively, the cabbage for 6 min. I can't imagine this without cabbage. As is my family tradition, probably started by my Mom during the Depression, I use tomato juice for part of the broth, beef broth for the rest. I love it this way, but I'm sure other versions like this one are equally good. NOTE: Real minestrone is supposed to be super thick. This recipe isn't, but I like it more brothy anyway, so it suits me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
This recipe is good as a base yet spices have been left out....margoram, oregano, parsley and garlic. Other than that, it's spot on for a good minestrone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owego, New York, USA
Living In: Federal Way, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
If you grate your own fresh parmesan cheese, save the rinds! Add them to your simmering soups for a wonderfull extra level of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shirley Tom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Make sure to put Parmesean cheese on it!!! You can also add a bay leaf as the Italians do. Beef boullion works too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Have had much better soups. A great addition to minestrone which adds alot of flavor is fresh fennel. Next time I will saute fennel and garlic, skip the thyme and see if that improves the broth. I have used fennel and garlic in other minestrone recipes and love the flavor - thought I would try this per the recipe before I made changes. Too bland as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Goulash

This American goulash is so tasty—and can be easily made in the slow cooker.

Jamie's Minestrone

See how to make a simple minestrone soup overflowing with fresh veggies.

How to Make Minestrone Soup

See how to make classic, comforting minestrone soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States