Classic Minestrone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
This is a good start to a great soup. I refer to this recipe for the right balance of vege to liquid quantity. I start by browning pancetta cubes in some oil. Then I add the mix of vergetables + some fresh garlic. Instead of thyme I add in about a tablespoon of pesto, a few drops of green pepper Tabasco (Milder Jalapeno) and a piece of Parmigiano rind. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
I have never made minestrone soup before in my life, but this looked so good, I decided to give it a try. I must say that I did make some changes after reading the reviews, so I could adjust it to my personal likes. Not to take away from this recipe, it just had a few things in it that I don't care for. It was easy to make the adjustments with the help of the reviews and it came out amazing. My husband and son-in-law both loved it as well. Thank you Michelle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
This is so easy and delicious! I did add 1 can of garbanzo beans, oregano, basil and then parmesan cheese on top. It was definitely better the next day! Thanks for the great recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
This was a very easy soup to make. I am disappointed by the broth- it was much too bland for my family's taste. Next time I think I will add a clove of garlic and not so much thyme. By the time my husband (who never adds salt) put enough salt in to taste, he asked me to just add bouillon cubes to made it edible for the next day's lunch. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
This soup was delish, but I gave it only 4 stars because I did add a couple things...I added 1 clove of minced garlic to the veggies, and I added half of a can of tomato paste. Even my 8 month old LOVED this soup. I plan to double it next time so I can freeze one! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
Even my picky kid ate some vegetables with this soup. It was that good! Tasted very authentic to me. I gave it four starts instead of five because I had to add some tomato paste to richen the broth and used a bit of garlic, too, just because.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
Great soup. I did make substitutions but that's the sign of a good, basic recipe. It can take altering and still be good. We used chopped onion instead of leek; canned tomatoes instead of fresh; kidney beans instead of green or cannellini beans; and more pasta than called for. Regardless, my daughter and I really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
Good, but as said many times before, lacking. Hardly "classic" as minestrone has been in Italy since Roman times, and everybody knows Romans didn't have tomatoes. Decent modern recipe, though...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
This is a good base for Minestrone but if someone wants a more substantial soup, try making it with beef broth using oxtails. I use a pressure cooker to cook the oxtails in water, with some chopped onions, salt and pepper. Then you can proceed as in the recipe, except I add cabbage and instead of thyme, I season it with a tablespoon or more of pesto. The oxtails will be very tender, so you can have them with your soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Missouri City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
I have not made this yet, but a word about minestrone: Marcella Hazen sautes onions, carrots, celery, green beans, and cabbage in butter/olive oil mixture for 3 min each, consecutively, the cabbage for 6 min. I can't imagine this without cabbage. As is my family tradition, probably started by my Mom during the Depression, I use tomato juice for part of the broth, beef broth for the rest. I love it this way, but I'm sure other versions like this one are equally good. NOTE: Real minestrone is supposed to be super thick. This recipe isn't, but I like it more brothy anyway, so it suits me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Goulash

This American goulash is so tasty—and can be easily made in the slow cooker.

Chef John's Classic Macaroni Salad

This deli-style macaroni salad will always be a crowd-favorite!

How to Make Minestrone Soup

See how to make classic, comforting minestrone soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States