Classic Minestrone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2005
This recipe was very good. I loved all the vegetables. Everyone in my family really liked it, and we have had a lot of different types of minestrone. This definitely ranks at the top. The only thing I would change is the seasoning, I added extra because I thought it would be bland and it turned out to be a good move.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PFEFFS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2005
This was great. I added tortellini instead of elbow macaroni and it made for a heartier, stew-like soup. A new favorite in my family. AAA++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYCTERIS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawtell, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Tujunga, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2005
A good base soup, but not what I was expecting. I would add garlic next time, and definitely potatoes. Kind of bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glassboro, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sicklerville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2005
I didn't think this soup tasted much like minestrone. It felt like something was missing. Maybe spinach? Not sure but I won't make it again. I had to force myself to eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2005
This really was great- my changes: add potato and asparagus, fresh basil, bay leaf, garlic, oregano. Didn't include: zucchini (don't like texture in soup) green beans (asparagus was cheaper at the time). Used canned tomato's, added ragu, used chicken stock. ALso used onion instead of leek. Oh yea- it is incredible the next day. (so maybe I can't really comment on the recipe as is :))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2005
Perfect. This recipe is wonderful. Sometimes I add red pepper flakes to spice it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2005
My husband, being full bred Italian claims this is one of the best Minestrone soups he has had the pleasure eating. I used lots of fresh ground mixed peppers and ditalini in place of the elbow noodles. Bravo!~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2005
Everyone enjoyed this soup. I used chicken broth rather than vegetable broth because that is what I had on hand. The soup still turned out good. Thanks Michelle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fran

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
This was really good, I used my own vegetable stock and there were already 2 leaks in there, so I didn't use the leeks in this recipe for the minestrone soup. I also added a bay leaf to the soup and just used the leaves of the thyme sprigs. This was terrific!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristie111

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2004
This soup is awesome. Full of flavor and just like the kind you get in a good Italian restaurant. No fail recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Classic Goulash

This American goulash is so tasty—and can be easily made in the slow cooker.

How to Make Minestrone Soup

See how to make classic, comforting minestrone soup.

Jamie's Minestrone

See how to make a simple minestrone soup overflowing with fresh veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States